India vs Australia 3rd ODI: Glenn Maxwell led the show as the Aussies defeated India by 66 runs to end the series on a positive note

Glenn Maxwell picked up four important wickets which turned the table in the India vs Australia 3rd ODI match.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
India vs Australia | India vs Australia 3rd ODI: Glenn Maxwell led the show as the Aussies defeated India by 66 runs to end the series on a positive note | Sportz Point

Australia managed to end their run of defeats with a comfortable 66-run victory over India. They lost the series as India won the previous two ODIs. Chasing a massive 353 to win, India could only manage 286 in 49.4 overs. India won the three-match series 2-1. The Aussies put up a huge 352 for 7 after Mitchell Marsh (96), Steve Smith (74), Marnus Labuschagne (72) and David Warner (56) played some important knocks. Jasprit Bumrah took three wickets after leaking 81 runs. India got off to a brilliant start with captain Rohit Sharma (81) and Virat Kohli (56) leading the chase Soon, the batting order was dismantled by the Aussie bowlers especially, Glenn Maxwell.

Read Also: Naveen-ul-Haq is set to Retire From ODIs After the ODI World Cup 2023

India vs Australia 3rd ODI - Match Report

First Half:

Australia were looking to go beyond 400 runs but they lost their way. Australia put up 90 runs by the end of the PowerPlay. Prasidh Krishna got a similar welcome as Shami and Bumrah. Warner scored 19 runs from his first over. Warner could add just five runs after his 32-ball fifty. But unfortunately he found Rahul and lost his wicket after scoring 56 runs.

Smith and Marsh were comfortable hunting for loose balls. Marsh brought up his fifty in 45 deliveries. Sundar forced the Aussie pair to collect runs square off the wicket. However, Marsh went all out during Bumrah's return. He parked two short deliveries over the deep square fence before hitting two fours through the off-side.

Australia suffered a mini-collapse after thirty overs. Siraj trapped Smith on 74 and Bumrah got the wicket of Alex Carey. Maxwell's comeback knock lasted seven deliveries after Bumrah nailed a yorker with pin-point precision to rattle his off stump. Labuschagne found company from skipper Cummins, who rotated the strike. Labuschagne completed his job but Bumrah got away with his wicket. His 58-ball 72 got Australia over 350 which proved more than enough.

Second Half:

Rohit started brilliantly in the first PowerPlay. He got off the blocks in the first over with a pull against Mitchell Starc. Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins were the next to see Rohit unleash his trademark strokes as India raced away to 50 in the seventh over. Rohit was put down by Starc on 48 off Green. It alloed him to register a 31-ball fifty.

Maxwell sent Washington to the dressing room and provided Australia the first breakthrough. Virat Kohli silenced the pace attack. He lofted an inches above mid-off as India reached 100 in the 16th over. Kohli's six charging down the track, off Starc, sent the crowd into a different universe. India lost the second wicket when Maxwell picked up a terrific one-handed catch off his bowling to claim Rohit's wicket.

Maxwell then dismissed Kohli and got the full control. K.L. Rahul and Shreyas Iyer completed a 50-run stand. But eventually Kl Rahul lost his wicket due to an error. Australia tightened grip in the next two overs. Suryakumar Yadav was dismissed by Hazlewood before Maxwell castled Iyer to claim his fourth. Ravindra Jadeja's 37-run inning was buried by Sangha in the 49th over. The pacers returned to clean up the rest and bundled India out for 286.

Bcci Mohammed Shami Cricket Australia Ravindra Jadeja Mitchell Starc Kl Rahul Indian Cricket Team Kuldeep Yadav Marnus Labuschagne Josh Hazlewood Shreyas Iyer Washington Sundar Steve Smith David Warner Jasprit Bumrah Glenn Maxwell Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma