IPL 2022: Full list of IPL's retained players

The old 8 IPL franchise has announced their retentions list for the IPL 2022 season ahead of the mega auction in January

Arijit Barua
New Update

There were a few surprises but most picks were on the expected lines as all 8 teams announced their retentions for IPL 2022 season. MS Dhoni was not Chennai Super Kings's first pick while Punjab Kings did not retain KL Rahul. Royal Challengers Bangalore retained Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, and Mohammed Siraj. Meanwhile, Sunrisers Hyderabad went for Kane Williamson but did not retain either David Warner or Rashid Khan.

IPL 2022 retention list | SportzPoint.ccom

Image - Hindustan Times

Read Also: IPL 2022: Mumbai Indians looking to grab home-boy Shreyas Iyer

IPL 2022 Retention: Quick Recap

Each of the eight franchises used the Player Retention option with Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), and Mumbai Indians (MI) opting to retain 4 players each.

Rajasthan Royals (RR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have retained 3 players each while Punjab Kings (PBKS) have retained 2.

The Punjab Kings thus have the highest salary purse available with INR 72 crore. Meanwhile, Delhi Capitals have the least at INR 47.50 to be used at the mega auction.

BCCI has already confirmed the inclusion of the two new teams. CVC Capitals-owned Ahmedabad and RPSG Group-owned Lucknow are the two new inductees of the IPL. IPL 2022 will be preceded by a mega auction and there are going to be two new teams - one each from Lucknow and Ahmedabad - making the new season a 10-team affair.

Retaining players cost the franchises a hefty amount as if a team which used all 4 options of retention then the total purse available for the 4 players was Rs 42 Crores. The first chosen player got Rs 16 Crores, the 2nd fetched Rs 12 Crores, the 3rd got a sum of Rs 8 Crores, and the 4th received Rs 6 Crores for their services.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Punjab Kings looking to remake the full squad

Mumbai Indians

  1. Rohit Sharma - Rs 16 crores
  2. Jasprit Bumrah - Rs 12 crores
  3. Suryakumar Yadav - Rs 8 crores
  4. Kieron Pollard - Rs 6 crores

Delhi Capitals

  1. Rishabh Pant - Rs 16 crores
  2. Axar Patel - Rs 9 crores
  3. Prithvi Shaw - Rs 7.5 crores
  4. Anrich Nortje - Rs 6.5 crores

Kolkata Knight Riders

  1. Andre Russell - Rs 12 crores
  2. Varun Chakravarthy - Rs 8 crores
  3. Venkatesh Iyer - Rs 8 crores
  4. Sunil Narine - Rs 6 crores

Chennai Super Kings

  1. Ravindra Jadeja - Rs 16 crores
  2. MS Dhoni - Rs 12 crores
  3. Moeen Ali - Rs 8 crores
  4. Ruturaj Gaikwad - Rs 6 crores

Read Also: Hopefully, my last T20 will be in Chennai: MS Dhoni indicated continuing with IPL cricket

Rajasthan Royals

  1. Sanju Samson - Rs 14 crores
  2. Jos Buttler - Rs 10 crores
  3. Yashasvi Jaiswal. Rs 4 crores

Royal Challengers Bangalore

  1. Virat Kohli - Rs 15 crores
  2. Glenn Maxwell - Rs 11 crores
  3. Mohammed Siraj - Rs 7 crores

Sunrisers Hyderabad

  1. Kane Williamson - Rs 14 crores
  2. Abdul Samad - Rs 4 crores
  3. Umran Malik - Rs 4 crores

Punjab Kings

  1. Mayank Agarwal Rs 12 crores
  2. Arshdeep Singh - Rs 4 crores

Also Read: Ashes 2021: Buttler feels like he has nothing to lose

Purse left for the 8 IPL franchises after retentions on November 30 :

  1. Punjab Kings - Rs 72 crores
  2. Sunrisers Hyderabad - Rs 68 croress
  3. Rajasthan Royals - Rs 62 croress
  4. Royal Challengers Bangalore - Rs 57 croress
  5. Chennai Super Kings - Rs 48 croress
  6. Kolkata Knight Riders - Rs 48 crores
  7. Mumbai Indians - Rs 48 croress
  8. Delhi Capitals - Rs 47.5 croress
Mumbai Indians Sunrisers Hyderabad Bcci Ipl 2022 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Ipl Punjab Kings Rajasthan Royals Delhi Capitals