Ishan Kishan has replaced KL Rahul in the WTC Final squad.

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

WTC Final | Ishan Kishan has replaced KL Rahul in the WTC Final squad | Sportz Point
Ishan Kishan will be the replacement of Kl Rahul for the WTC Final (Image - BCCI)
Ishan Kishan was named as India batter KL Rahul’s replacement in the WTC final squad against Australia on Monday.
Web Stories

Ishan Kishan has been called as KL Rahul’s replacement in India’s World Test Championship final squad against Australia. The BCCI announced on Monday. In Rahul’s absence due to a thigh injury, Kishan will be slotted in as the second wicket-keeper behind KS Bharat. India, the runner-up of the inaugural edition, has also named Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, and Suryakumar Yadav as their stand-by players for the Final. The WTC final will be played at the Oval in London, starting June 7.

Read Also: Player to hit a six to win off in the last ball in IPL

BCCI announced Rahul’s replacement for the WTC Final

Kishan is yet to play a Test for India. He was earlier named in India’s Border-Gavaskar Trophy squad this year. The Wicket-keeper batsman, however, did not get a game. Kishan has featured in 48 First-Class games, scoring 2985 runs at an average of 38.76. The left-hander has accounted for 99 catches and 11 stumping in his FC career. In the ongoing IPL season, Kishan has registered 293 runs in 10 matches, averaging 29.30 with two fifties.

The seam duo of Jaydev Unadkat and Umesh Yadav, who suffered injuries during the ongoing IPL 2023 season, have also been named in the squad. The BCCI said that a call on their participation will be taken later.

Unadkat sustained a left shoulder injury by tripping over the side rope while bowling in the nets for Lucknow Super Giants. A specialist consultation has been sought and the left-arm fast bowler is currently at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru undergoing strength and rehab sessions for his shoulder. Meanwhile, Umesh sustained a minor left hamstring injury during a game for Kolkata Knight Riders. The BCCI Medical Team is in regular touch with KKR Medical Team and is closely monitoring Umesh’s progress.

  • India’s squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wk).
  • Standby players: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav.

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

Every result from India vs Pakistan Asia Cup Clash Haaland and Bonmati won the UEFA Player of the Year India vs Pakistan record in Asia Cup Kevin de Bruyne : Eight years of midfield magic at City Rohit Sharma’s strike rate vs average in ODIs Suryakumar Yadav gears up for Asia Cup 2023 Top 5 : Fastest batters to 5000 ODI runs Most 100s in international Cricket among Current Players KL Rahul will miss the group stage matches of the Asia Cup 2023 Manchester City forward wins PFA men’s Player of the Year award