Man of the Tournament in every ICC Men's ODI World Cup

Check the list of cricketers who have won the coveted Player of the Tournament award in the ICC ODI World Cup from 1992 to 2023.

Abishek Goswami
Updated On
New Update
Man of the Tournament in every ICC Men's ODI World Cup

Virat Kohli received the award in the 2023 World Cup for scoring 765 runs.

The 2023 ICC Men's ODI Cricket World Cup is the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup. The tournament was hosted by India, began on 5 October and concluded on 19 November 2023. Ten national teams - Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka took part in the tournament. Australia defeated the host nation India in the Final by 6 wickets.

India hosted the Men's Cricket World Cup solely for the first time. The tournament took place in ten different stadiums. The first and second semi-finals was being played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Eden Gardens in Kolkata respectively. At the same time, the final took place at Narendra Modi Stadium, in Ahmedabad.

Also Read: Most Runs in ICC Men's ODI World Cup

The pressure of a World Cup game is a level above other cricket matches. Despite all this, some players outperform all their levels. Sometimes a single player can lead his team to victory. Many times it's happened that a cricketer has single-handedly rescued his or her team from a difficult situation and won the match.

To award the singular most valuable performance by a player, the ICC decided to create the Player of the Tournament award (also called Player of the Series) in the World Cup in 1992. Since then, 8 players have been the recipient of this award. Today, we take a look at the entire list of players of the tournament winners in the ICC World Cup from 1992 to 2023.

Man of the Tournament in every ICC Men's ODI World Cup

Year Player Achievements
2023 Virat Kohli (India) 765 runs and 1 wicket
2019 Kane Williamson (New Zealand) 578 runs and 2 wickets; captaincy
2015 Mitchell Starc (Australia) 22 Wickets
2011 Yuvraj Singh (India) 362 Runs and 15 wickets
2007 Glenn McGrath (Australia) 26 wickets
2003 Sachin Tendulkar (India) 673 runs and 2 wickets
1999 Lance Klusener (South Africa) 281 runs and 17 wickets
1996 Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 221 runs and 6 wickets
1992 Martin Crowe (New Zealand) 456 runs

Follow us on Google News.

Icc Indian Cricket Team Icc Cricket World Cup 2023 Virat Kohli Cricket Australia Cricket World Cup ODI World Cup 2023