Most 5 wicket hauls in Test Cricket

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Most 5 wicket hauls in Test | Most 5 wicket hauls in Test Cricket | Sportz Point
Sri Lankan cricketer Muttiah Muralitharan is the bowler with most 5 wicket hauls in the history of Test Cricket (Image - Getty Images)
Sri Lanka's legendary spinner, Muttiah Muralitharan, holds the record for the most 5 wicket hauls in the history of the test cricket
Web Stories

In the first Test against West Indies in Dominica on Wednesday, Ravichandran Ashwin made another historical record as he became the bowler with the most 5 wicket hauls in Test Cricket among the active players. In the second inning, he took another five-for to extend his tally. He has now got 34 of those in his career. Ashwin can get past Sri Lanka legendary bowler Rangana Herath with 1 more haul but for now, he is in sixth position of the list with the same number as him. Among the active players, he got past James Anderson who has taken 32 hauls. Not surprisingly, Sri Lanka’s all-time greatest spinner, Muttiah Muralitharan holds the record of getting the most 5 wicket hauls in the history of test cricket. So, now let’s have a look at the top 10 bowlers with the most number of five-wicket hauls in test cricket.

Read Also: WIvsIND 1st Test | KS Bharat dropped, netizens question Indian team’s selection

Most 5 wicket hauls in Test Cricket:

M Muralidaran (SL)1992-20101332301794181808009/5116/22022.722.47456722
SK Warne (AUS)1992-20071452731761179957088/7112/12825.412.65483710
Sir RJ Hadlee (NZ)1973-19908615080996114319/5215/12322.292.6325369
A Kumble (IND)1990-200813223615761835561910/7414/14929.652.6931358
HMRKB Herath (SL)1999-201893170814121574339/12714/18428.072.8020349
R Ashwin (IND)2011-202393*175852114044797/5913/14023.802.7624337
JM Anderson (ENG)2003-20231813371678180336887/4211/7126.212.7932323
GD McGrath (AUS)1993-20071242431470121865638/2410/2721.642.4928293
IT Botham (ENG)1977-1992102168788108783838/3413/10628.402.9917274
DW Steyn (SA)2004-201993171660100774397/5111/6022.953.2427265

Share on:

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

ICC announces prize money for ODI World Cup 2023 Suryakumar Yadav ends 21-ODI wait for fifty India achieve historic rankings feat after first ODI win Shubman Gill looks to dethrone Babar Azam as ODI No. 1 batter Shreyas Iyer given the final chance in the squad before World Cup Shubman Gill eyes Dhawan’s all-time record Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur rises in ICC women’s rankings Ravichandra Ashwin’s record in One day International cricket Sensational Siraj returns to No. 1 in ODI rankings No room for Sanju, Chahal in India ODI squad