Most Man Of The Series Awards in a calendar year

Pakistan wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan equalizes the record of Sachin Tendulkar with his 5th "Man Of The Series" award of this year yesterday against the West Indies

Arijit Barua
New Update

The Man of the series awards are given to those players who perform the best among all on that particular series. However, the series may be a Test series or an ODI/T20I series. The players performed thoughts the series be it a batsman or a bowler they give their all in the series. Many players have won the Man of the series several times inside a year. In this article, we will look into those players who have won the most Man Of The Series awards in a calendar year. However, no surprise that Cricket GOD Sachin Tendulkar is leading the list. Meanwhile, Pakistan wicketkeeper-batsman Rizwan equalizes Sachin's record with his 5th "MOS" award yesterday in the T20I series against the Windies.

Read Also: Most T20 runs in a calendar year

AB De Villers | 2013 | 4 awards

ABD | Most Man Of The Series Awards in a calendar year |

Image - The Statesmen

Mr. 360 of cricket, Abraham Benjamin De Villiers has won four Man Of The Series awards back in the year 2013. ABD is known for his 360-degree shorts around the ground in any format of the game. He can chase any target from any situation while also can save a test match when needed. ABD has played 114 tests, 228 ODIs, and 78 T20Is for the Proteas. However, ABD announced his retirement from all forms of cricket last month. The wicket-keeper batsman has smashed 20,044 runs thought his cricket international career.

Also Read: Dale Steyn is likely to be the bowling coach of Sunrisers Hyderabad

Tilakaratne Dilshan | 2008 | 4 awards

T Dilshan | Most Man Of The Series Awards in a calendar year |

Image - Cricket Country

Former Sri Lanka opener Tillakaratne Dilshan has also won four Man Of The Series awards in the year 2009. Dilshan has played 87 tests, 330 ODIs, and 80 T20Is for his country. Meanwhile, in his international cricket career, Dilshan has smashed 17,671 runs and won a T20 World Cup for Sri Lanka in 2014. Dilshan has also had some good part-time bowling skills. He has 106 wickets in ODIs while, 39 wickets in Tests and 9 in T20Is.

Shakib Al Hasan | 2009 | 4 awards

Shakib Al Hasan | Most Man Of The Series Awards in a calendar year |

Image - India TV

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has also had a great year back in 2009. In 2009, Shakib has grabbed four Man Of The Series awards and enlisted his name on this list. For the last 10 years, Shakib is the best all-rounder for Bangladesh across formats. Meanwhile, he was also the best performer in the ODI world cup 2019. Shakib has played 59 tests, 215 ODIs, and 94 T20Is so far for Bangladesh. In those games, Shakib has scored 12,523 runs and also scalped 609 wickets throughout his international cricket career.

Read Also: Most ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year trophy winner

Ajantha Mendis | 2008 | 4 awards

Ajantha Mendis | Most Man Of The Series Awards in a calendar year |

Image - Outlook India

Former Sri Lankan spinner Ajantha Mendis has also won the Man Of The Series award four times back in the year 2008. Mendis was a pillar of Sri Lanka's spin bowling department at those times. No one can forget his performance in the T20 World Cup stages especially in 2014. Meanwhile, that year Sri Lanka won their maiden T20 triumph. The spinner has played 19 tests, 87 ODIs, and 39 T20Is. Meanwhile, in those games, Mendis has scalped 288 wickets and also bowls with a decent average.

Also Read: Ashes 2021-22: Most test wickets by spinners

Mohammad Rizwan | 2021 | 5* awards

Mohammad Rizwan | Most Man Of The Series Awards in a calendar year |

Image - Daily Pakistan

Currently the best T20I batsman of Pakistan, Mohammad Rizwan has won five MOS awards in the year 2021. Moreover, Rizwan becomes the first T20 player to score 2000+ T20 runs in a calendar year. Meanwhile, Rizwan has also now touched the GOD of cricket Sachin Tendulkar, in terms of Man Of The Series awards in a calendar year. Both of them have won five MOS awards in different calendar years. While Rizwan won this year and Sachin won back in 1998. The wicket-keeper batsman has played 19 tests, 41 ODIs, and 55 T20Is for Pakistan. Meanwhile, Rizwan has scored 3475 runs in his international cricket career so far.

Sachin Tendulkar | 1998 | 5 awards

The GOD of Cricket Sachin Tendulkar has won five Man Of The Series awards back in the year 1998. Sachin was in his peak form at that time. Sachin has played 200 tests, 463 ODIs, and one T20I in his international cricket career span of 25 years. Tendulkar has scored 34, 357 runs throughout his international cricket career and smashed 100 tons including 51 Tests and 49 in ODIs. Who can forget his contribution to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2003, where he won the player of the tournament award and helps Ganguly lead India to reach the finals.

Read Also: ICC Men's Player of the month: From January to November

N.B: The stats are accurate as of 17/12/2021.

Sachin Tendulkar Shakib Al Hasan Mohammad Rizwan Ab De Villiers Tillakaratne Dilshan Ajamtha Mendis