New Zealand Announce ODI World Cup 2023 Squad; Kane Williamson makes his place

Kane Williamson and Tim Southee have been named in the New Zealand squad for the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023 in India.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
ODI World Cup 2023 | New Zealand Announce ODI World Cup 2023 Squad; Kane Williamson makes his place | Sportz Point

Kane Williamson will make his return to the New Zealand side as the Blackcaps announced their squad for the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 in India from October 5. New Zealand have named their 15-player group for the competition. They confirmed the group at Papatoetoe High School in Auckland on Monday. Kane Williamson was confirmed as a squad member this week. He made a quicker-than-expected recovery from a ruptured ACL at the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL). Both Williamson and fast bowler Tim Southee will appear at their fourth World Cup.

Read Also: Asia Cup 2023: Most sixes in Asia Cup history

ODI World Cup 2023: New Zealand announces their squad

Mark Chapman has earned his spot, as well as 23-year-old spin-bowling all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, who claimed 3/48 against England in the first of four ODIs on Friday. Adam Milne, who recently picked up a hamstring injury on New Zealand's tour of England, missed out.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead admitted he faced some tough decisions when deciding on the final squad. "It is always a special time to name a tournament team and I'd like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. It is a great honour to represent your country at a World Cup," Stead said.

"From Kane and Tim heading to their fourth tournament to the guys selected for the first time, it is always a very exciting time. As with any squad named for an ICC tournament, there have been some tough calls and there will be some disappointed players. The key for us was finding the right balance for the squad and making sure we had our bases covered for what is going to be a very competitive tournament," he added.

New Zealand will meet England and Bangladesh in ODIs before taking on England again in a rematch of the 2019 Final in the World Cup opener on October 5.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young

Icc Icc Tournament Icc Cricket World Cup 2023 New Zealand Cricket Kane Williamson Tim Southee