PSL 2023: Full list of retained players

The player retentions for Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023 were announced on Friday, November 11.

Arijit Barua
New Update
PSL 2023: Full list of retained players | Sportz Point

The player retentions for Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023 were announced on Friday, November 11. One of the biggest trades ahead of the draft was Pakistan skipper Babar Azam, who has moved to Peshawar Zalmi in the supplementary round while veteran batter Shoaib Malik and youngster Haider Ali have joined the Karachi Kings. 

PSL 2023: Full list of retained players | Sportz Point

Babar Azam

Image - InsideSport.IN

Also Read: Team India's schedule after T20 World Cup 2022

Lahore Qalandars is the only franchise that retained two players, Rashid Khan and Shaheen Afridi in the platinum category while all other franchises have gone for just one platinum retention. Multan Sultans, who finished at the top of the points table in the league stages last year, has retained Mohammad Rizwan in the platinum category.  

Shadab Khan has been retained in the platinum category by Islamabad United while Mohammad Nawaz finds a place in the platinum category for the Quetta Gladiators franchise. During the draft, each of the six franchises will have the Right to Match Card that will allow them to pick any player released from their roster. A total of 18 members can be picked in the squad after the draft and all eyes will be on that.

A total of 493 players, of which 29 are in the Platinum category and 81 in Diamond, from both full member and associate nations, have made themselves available for the player draft. The maximum number of foreign players to register is from England (140) while there are 60 from Sri Lanka, 43 from Afghanistan, 38 from West Indies, 28 from Bangladesh, 25 from South Africa, 14 from Australia, 11 from Zimbabwe (11), and nine from Ireland.

Complete list of retained players for PSL 2023

Islamabad United: 

Shadab Khan (Platinum)

Asif Ali (Brand Ambassador)

Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Diamond)

Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, and Hasan Ali (Gold)

Colin Munro and Paul Stirling (Silver). 

Karachi Kings: 

Haider Ali (Platinum)

Imad Wasim

Mohammad Amir and Shoaib Malik (Diamond)

Aamir Yamin

Mir Hamza and Sharjeel Khan (Silver)

Qasim Akram (Emerging)

Read Also: Last 5 winners of the Pakistan Super League

Lahore Qalandars: 

Rashid Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi (Platinum)

David Wiese (Diamond)

Abdullah Shafique (Gold)

Harry Brook and Kamran Ghulam (Silver)

Zaman Khan (Emerging)

The eighth retention is to be announced in due course. 

Multan Sultans: 

Mohammad Rizwan (Platinum)

Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw, and Shan Masood (Diamond)

Shahnawaz Dahani (Brand Ambassador) and Tim David (Gold)

Abbas Afridi and Ihsanullah (Emerging)

Peshawar Zalmi: 

Babar Azam (Platinum)

Sherfane Rutherford and Wahab Riaz (Diamond)

Mohammad Haris (Gold)

Aamir Jamal (Brand Ambassador)

Salman Irshad and Tom-Kohler Cadmore (Silver) 

Also Read: Most Sixes in T20 World Cup

Quetta Gladiators: 

Mohammad Nawaz (Platinum)

Iftikhar Ahmed and Jason Roy (Diamond)

Mohammad Hasnain and Sarfaraz Ahmed (Gold)

Will Smeed (Silver)

Naveen ul Haq, Umar Akmal (Mentor) 

Mohammad Rizwan Pakistan Super League Shoaib Malik Babar Azam Pakistan Cricket Board T20 Cricket Shaheen Afridi