Senior Women’s T20 tournament: Mumbai defeats Bengal

Bengal lost their first encounter of the Senior Women's T20 tournament against Mumbai after they got bundled out on a score of 113.
Senior Women’s T20 tournament: Mumbai defeats Bengal
Author :

In the very first encounter of the Senior Women's T20 tournament, Bengal suffered a massive defeat against Mumbai at the JSCA Oval ground, Ranchi. Bengal lost by 45 runs in their opening encounter against Mumbai. Mumbai had set a target of 159 after finishing on 158/6 in 20 overs. All-rounder Deepti Sharma and skipper Rumeli Dhar got out on a duck in the run chase. Meanwhile, Prativa also got run out on a score of zero in four balls.

Image – Female Cricket

Mita Paul (35), Dhara Gujjar (16), and Richa (16) tried their best but can't resist the loss. However, the late blow by Saika Isaque (22*) doesn't affect the opponents much as Bengal got bundled out on a score of 113 inside just 17.1 overs.

Now, the question arises on the Cricket Association Of Bengal's (CAB) selection panel. The question is in spite of performing too well in the recently conducted BYJU'S Bengal women's T20 Blast, some players like Hrishita Basu, Anindita Nath, and Sasthi Mondal. Moreover, the inclusion of Ankita Chakraborty in the squad was surprising as well when CAB announced the squad for the tournament.

The last time when the tournament was organized Bengal was the Runners-up in the tournament. They were beaten by an experienced Railways team in the 2019-20 final. Bengal's next game is against Saurashtra on April 19 while after that the Bengal girls will face Assam on April 21.

The remaining games of Bengal are listed below:

19th April 2022 – vs Saurashtra
21st April 2022 – vs Assam
22nd April 2022 – vs Haryana
24th April 2022 – vs Punjab

All the matches will start at 8.30 am.

Bengal Full Squad for the Senior Women's T20 tournament

Rumeli Dhar (C)
Mita Paul (V.C)
Deepti Sharma
Richa Ghosh (wk)
Gouher Sultana
Dhara Gujjar
Jhumia Khatun
Priyanka Bala
Saika Ishaque
Titas Sadhu
Tithi Das
Sansthita Biswas
Sukanya Parida
Sushmita Ganguly
Bristi Majhi
Parna Paul (WK)
Prativa Rana
Shrayosi Aich
Ankita Chakraborty
Sneha Gupta

Related Stories

No stories found.