South Zone wins the Duleep Trophy 2023

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Duleep Trophy | South Zone wins the Duleep Trophy 2023 | Sportz Point
South Zone beat West Zone by 75 runs in the final (Image - BCCI)
South Zone clinched their 14th Duleep Trophy title after a brilliant comeback on Day 5 as they defeated West Zone by 75 runs.
Web Stories

R Sai Kishore took three wickets on Sunday morning to help South Zone register their 14th Duleep Trophy win. They defeated West Zone by a comfortable 75-run margin to win the title at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. West Zone were restricted to 222 on the fifth morning, only able to add 40 runs to their overnight score. South Zone made a brilliant comeback on Day 5 to make that possible.

Read Also: MLC: Seattle Orcas won a thriller of a game against Washington Freedom

West Zone needed 116 runs to win with five wickets on hand as they started Day 5. However, they lost their captain Priyank Panchal early. The opener was unbeaten on 92 at the stumps on Day 4. He was only able to add three runs before getting dismissed. He won the Player of the Match as well as the Tournament for returning figures of 8 for 104 in the final and bagging 15 scalps in the tournament.

Shams Mulani and Atit Sheth kept the South Zone bowlers in control for over half an hour. But they could add only six runs for the seventh wicket on a slow-moving morning before Mulani became V Koushik’s fourth victim of the innings.

Dharmendrasinh Jadeja attempted to counterattack and even scored a couple of boundaries before getting dismissed. West Zone completely shattered on the Day 5 morning as South Zone claimed their 14th Duleep Trophy title.

Duleep Trophy 2023 Final: Scores

South Zone: 213 (Hanuma Vihari 63, Tilak Varma 40; Shams Mulani 3-39, Chintan Gaja 2-27) & 230 (Hanuma Vihari 42, Ricky Bhui 37, Washington Sundar 37; Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 5-40, Atit Sheth 2-38)

West Zone: 146 (Prithvi Shaw 65, Harvik Desai 21; Vidwath Kaverappa 7/53, Vijaykumar Vyshak 2-33) & 222 (Priyank Panchal 95, Sarfaraz Khan 48; V Koushik 4-36, R Sai Kishore 4-57)

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

Miller, Marsh lead batting charts in India since World Cup 2019 Jaiswal becomes youngest player to score T20I century for India Top-10: Legends who never won the ODI World Cup Ben Stokes sensational record in ODI World Cup Asian Games 2023 Medal Tally Updates Chahal is disappointed about not getting selected for World Cup 2023 Shaheen Afridi eyes all-time Pakistan record The most thrilling matches in ODI World Cup history Top 5 : Indian bowlers with most ODI wickets since 2019 WC 8 players part of India’s 2019 WC squad that will not play 2023 WC