Teams with most wins in IPL history

Before we jump into the madness of IPL from 19 September, let's take a look at the teams with the most wins in IPL history.
Teams with most wins in IPL history
Author :

It is only a matter of time to witness the biggest T20 premier league: IPL. The second half or the postponed IPL is starting from 19 September in UAE and Oman. The series will definitely start with a bang as the first match is a clash between the best; Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. Before we jump into the madness of IPL, let's take a look at the teams with the most wins in IPL history.

Mumbai Indians

Image Credit- Cricbuzz

The most successful team in IPL history is Mumbai Indians. Needless to say, the team has won the most wins in IPL history with 122 wins. The five-time IPL champion has clinched the trophy in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020. Many domestic cricketers have paved their way into the international teams by playing phenomenally well in MI. Rohit Sharma, the captain, has been one of the most integral players of the team and represented the team in all the victories.

Chennai Super Kings

Image Credit- Cricbuzz

The second team with the most win in IPL is the rival of the leading team MI; Chennai Super Kings. Their rivalry has always intrigued the fans till the last ball of the match. CSK, led by the legend Mahendra Singh Dhoni bags the second spot on this list with 111 wins. The 3-times IPL champions won the titles in 2010, 2011, and 2018. It is only a matter o a month to see if they can secure the title for the fourth time or not as CSK is in great form this year.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Image Credit- Getty Images

Kolkata Knight Riders is the third team with the most wins in IPL history. With a total of 100 wins in IPL history, Kolkata holds the third position on this list. KKR is also 2 times IPL champions. They clinched the trophies in 2012 and 2014. The Eoin Morgan-led team's performance in IPL 2021 is exactly the opposite of what they want it to be. With the restart of IPL from 19 September, KKR fans will anticipate some good performance from the team and take their position to the top 4 from the 7th rank.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Image Credit- Getty Images

Royal Challengers Bangalore bags the fourth position on this list with 94 wins in IPL history. The star-studded team always had the potential to win the title, especially for their extraordinary batting lineup. Unfortunately, they could not we need it till now even after reaching the semi-finals. Virat Kohli, the captain of the team believes that they have a strong team this year to do well. In the first half of IPL hosted in India, RCB has shown great performance and is at the 3rd position of the points table right now. Both the team and the fans are expecting a surprising revolution this time. This year, both the batting and bowling lineup of RCB is strong and the fans cannot wait to see what the team has in store for them.

Delhi Capitals

Image Credit- Patriot

Delhi capitals with 89 wins in IPL holds the 5th position on this list. DC has not won the winning trophy yet. In 2020 IPL, the team led by the young cricketer Rishabh Pant reached the semi-finals and faced Mumbai Indians. Unfortunately, they didn't win the title but definitely left their mark as a strong team. They are at the No. 1 position in the IPL points table right now and definitely, they will show more exciting performances in the upcoming matches.

Punjab Kings

Image Credit- NDTV Sports

With 88 wins, Punjab Kings secures the 6th position on this list of the most wins in IPL history. The team has not won the winning title even once. The team represented by KL Rahul is at the 6th position of the IPL 2021 points table with 2 wins out of 5 matches. The fans have been waiting for a great show for very long and let's see what happens in the second half of IPL 2021.

Rajasthan Royals

Image Credit- DNA India

The winner of the inaugural IPL, Rajasthan Royals has won 82 matches till now. Rajasthan Royals started their IPL journey with a bang and won the 2008 IPL. But after that season, they couldn't go closer to the trophy. In the IPL 2021 points table, they are at the 5th position right now with 2 wins out of 5 matches.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Image Credit- Cricbuzz

The last team with 66 wins in IPL is Sunrisers Hyderabad. The one-time champion team clinched their first trophy in 2016 IPL defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals. The situation of Sunrisers Hyderabad is the worst of all as they have won only one match out of 5 matches played in the first half of IPL in India. Also, they are at the last position of the points table.

Related Stories

No stories found.