West Indies announces squad for T20Is against India and New Zealand

Shimron Hetmyer makes his return as West Indies announces their squad for the upcoming T20I series against India and New Zealand.

Arijit Barua
New Update

West Indies Cricket announced a strong 16-member squad for the upcoming T20Is against India, which is set to begin on July 29. West Indies will play five games against India, and after the conclusion of the series, they will also face New Zealand in a three-match T20I series.

West Indies announces squad for T20Is against India and New Zealand | SportzPoint.com

Image - The Print

Also Read: West Indies Vs India: 1st T20I Full Preview, Lineups, Pitch Report, And Dream11 Team Prediction

West Indies, who lost the ODI series against India, will now call back Shimron Hetmyer for the 20-over games. The first game against India is scheduled to be hosted by the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba. Meanwhile, the contest will also be the first-ever international game to be played at this venue.

The second and third games will be played at Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts. However, the final two games will be played at Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill, Florida.

Nicholas Pooran will continue his role as the team's skipper and also will be assisted by Rovman Powell as his deputy. Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, and Hetmyer also form a strong batting lineup for the hosts.

Shimron Hetmyer is known for scoring the winning runs for the team. Although, he missed out on the ODI series against India but will be back for the upcoming five T20Is.

Read Also: WI vs IND: KL Rahul set to miss the full T20I series

Therefore, after putting out a close fight in the first two ODIs of the three-match series against India, the hosts will have the passion and hunger to cover up for the losses. Meanwhile, the Windies side in their previous T20I stint against Bangladesh showcased some fine performances and bagged a 2-0 win after the first match was abandoned.

West Indies Squad for T20Is against India and New Zealand:

Nicholas Pooran (Captain)

Rovman Powell (Vice Captain)

Shamarh Brooks

Dominic Drakes

Shimron Hetmyer

Jason Holder

Akeal Hosein

Alzarri Joseph

Brandon King

Kyle Mayers

Obed McCoy

Keemo Paul

Romario Shepherd

Odean Smith

Devon Thomas

Hayden Walsh Jr

Also Read: New Zealand Cricket announces ODI and T20I squad for West Indies tour

Indian Cricket Team T20I Cricket New Zealand Cricket West Indies Cricket Jason Holder Shimron Hetmyer India Vs West Indies 2022