WPL 2023 Final: Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians Match Preview, Possible Lineups, Pitch Report & Dream XI Team Prediction

Delhi Capitals & Mumbai Indians will play against each other in the Final of the inaugural WPL campaign on March 26, at the Brabourne Stadium

Abishek Goswami
New Update

Harmanpreet Kaur & Meg Lanning will face each other in another final, this time it is the inaugural WPL. Delhi & Mumbai, the table toppers will get head-to-head at the Brabourne Stadium on 26th March, Sunday. Delhi Capitals & Mumbai Indians both met each other two times before this opening season before the Final. Mumbai won the first clash while Delhi clinched the second one. Both teams have proved their strengths on the field with the bat or ball during this campaign & it will be a very exciting final when the Best Captains will lead their team into the field on Sunday. Here is our match preview of the WPL 2023 Final between Delhi Capitals Women vs Mumbai Indians Women.

WPL 2023: WPL Trophy | Sportz Point

WPL Trophy

Image -

Read Also: WPL 2023: Nat Sciver-Brunt & Issy Wong dominated & destroyed UP Warriorz as they reached the Final against Delhi Capitals

WPL 2023:

Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians | Match Details

Match: 22 (The Final)

Date: 26/03/2023

Time: 7.30 pm IST

Venue: Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

Where to Watch: Sports 18, Jio Cinema

Venue Details

The DC vs MI WPL 2023 Final will be played at the Brabourne Stadium on 26th March, Sunday. The pitch at this venue is good for batting. The pacers may get some movement in the initial overs but overall it's a good surface to bat on. The bowlers will struggle to keep a check on the scoring rate and fans can expect a high-scoring affair on Sunday. Clear skies will greet both sides on Sunday, with the temperature expected to hover between 24 to 31 degrees Celsius.

Read Also: WPL 2023 Auction: Squads of Every Team

WPL 2023:

Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians | Team News

Delhi Capitals

DC Women finished the league stages at the top of the points table. They won six games out of eight and qualified directly for the final after topping the table. Delhi faced the UP Warriorz in their last league game and defeated them to seal a berth in the final. They will be high in confidence and will look to repeat their performance for one last time on Sunday.

The capitals did not use Poonam Yadav at all despite playing her in their last league game. They might consider leaving her out for USA's Tara Norris (teams can play five overseas players if one of them is from an Associate nation), Minnu Mani, or Jasia Akhter.

Meg Lanning has not just led Capitals with victories but in the process, also ensured that runs continue to flow from her bat at the top of the order. She began the WPL with a couple of half-centuries and has not looked back. She had a strike rate of 140 and she is no stranger to big finals.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians Women finished the league stages in the second position. They finished below the Capitals Women with 12 points to their name. They had to face the UP Warriorz in the Eliminator. A solid all-round performance helped them come out on top and qualify for the final. Mumbai's charge with the bat has been led by Nat Sciver-Brunt and Hayley Matthews. Consistency from Harmanpreet has only helped matters.

For Mumbai, Matthews, Yastika Bhatia, Sciver-Brunt, and Harmanpreet - which is the least number of players used by any team for these spots, scored 984 runs comfortably, the highest out of all teams in this WPL. Delhi Capitals' top four have scored 838 runs.

WPL 2023:

Possible Lineups | Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians

Delhi Capitals Women:

  • Shafali Verma
  • MM Lanning (C)
  • J Rodrigues
  • Alice Capsey
  • M Kapp
  • T Bhatia (Wk)
  • JL Jonassen
  • S Pandey
  • Radha Yadav
  • T Norris
  • A Reddy

DC Full Squad: Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Meg Lanning, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Marizanne Kapp, Titas Sadhu, Alice Capsey, Laura Harris, Minnu Mani, Jasia Akhtar, Tara Noris, Jess Jonassen, Arundhati Reddy, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Aparna Mondal, Poonam Yadav

Mumbai Indians Women:

  • Yastika Bhatia (Wk)
  • S Ishaque
  • Sonam Yadav
  • H Kaur (C)
  • Hayley Matthews
  • NR Sciver
  • AC Kerr
  • H Graham
  • Priyanka Bala
  • P Vastrakar
  • Issy wong

MI Full squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia (WK), Heather Graham, Isabelle Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Dhara Gujjar, Hayley Mathews, Chloe Tryon, Humairaa Kaazi, Priyanka Bala (WK), Sonam Yadav, Jintimani Kalita, Neelam Bisht, Saika Ishaque

DC vs MI | Dream XI Team Predictions

WPL 2023: Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians | Sportz Point

Bcci T20I Cricket Women In Sports Womens Cricket Harmanpreet Kaur Jemimah Rodrigues Shafali Verma Meg Lanning T20 Cricket Wpl 2023 Amelia Kerr Yastika Bhatia