WPL: Mumbai Indians announced Harmanpreet Kaur as their Captain

Mumbai Indians announced Indian Captain Harmanpreet Kaur as their captain to lead them in the inaugural season of WPL.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
WPL: Harmanpreet Kaur | Sportz Point

Mumbai Indians franchise announced Harmanpreet Kaur as their Captain in the inaugural edition of the WPL. The first edition will begin on March 4. She was expected to lead the side, which will feature other top international names such as Nat Sciver-Brunt, Hayley Matthews, and Amelia Kerr.

"As the national captain, she has led the Indian Women's team to some of their most exciting wins," Mumbai Indians owner Nita Ambani said in a statement. "And I am sure that with Charlotte and Jhulan's support, she will inspire our MI women's team to play their best cricket, display a sense of pride, and bring even more glory to women in sports."

Read Also: IND vs AUS: Jadeja becomes the 2nd Indian Cricketer to complete 5000 runs & 500 wickets in International Cricket

Mumbai had bought Harmanpreet for INR 1.8 crore (US$ 220,000 approx.), the third-most expensive for them after Nat's INR 3.2 crore ($390,000 approx.) and Pooja Vastrakar's 1.90 crores ($232,000 approx.).

Harmanpreet led India to the knockouts in the last three T20 World Cups, including the final of the 2020 edition in Australia. In the recent T20 World Cup that finished in South Africa last month, India missed out on the final when they lost to eventual champions Australia in the Semi-Final.

Harmanpreet will be in the team management with Edwards, Goswami, and batting coach Devika Palshikar. The squad also includes Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia and Amanjot Kaur as the other international India players. Mumbai will take on Gujarat Giants in the WPL opener on March 4 at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Mumbai Indians' Squad for the first Edition of WPL:

Nat Sciver, Pooja Vastrakar, Harmanpreet Kaur, Yastika Bhatia, Amelia Kerr, Heather Graham, Amanjot Kaur, Isabelle Wong, Dhara Gujjar, Saika Ishaque, Hayley Matthews, Chloe Tryon, Priyanka Bala, Humairaa Kaazi, Jintimani Kalita, Sonam Yadav, Neelam Bisht.

Icc Bcci Indian Cricket Team T20I Cricket Smriti Mandhana Harmanpreet Kaur Mumbai Indians Wpl 2023