Last 10 Serie A Winners

Napoli added their name in the historic list of Serie A winners as they have won their first Scudetto since 1990 with Victor Osimhen's goal

Avignyan Mukhopadhyay
New Update

Napoli added their name in the historic list of Serie A winners as they have won their first Scudetto since 1990 after Victor Osimhen's second-half goal secured a 1-1 draw at Udinese on Thursday night

Napoli have led the table for most of the season, producing the best and most entertaining football by some distance, spearheaded by Osimhen and the Georgia winger Khvicha Kvaratskhelia. They have lost three league games all season.

Sportz Point.

Last 10 Serie A Winners (Image- Sportz Point )

Victor Osimhen's 22nd goal of the season ensured Napoli secured the single point needed to clinch the title with rivals Lazio and Juventus no longer able to catch them.

They came from behind to secure a draw in Udine, with emotional celebrations breaking out across Italy in Naples.

It is the first time Napoli have won the league since the legendary Diego Maradona starred for them in the 1990 and 1987 campaigns.

Serie A Winners | Osimhen | Sportz Point.

Victor Osimhen scored 22 goals in the 2022/23 Serie A season (Image- Ben Jacobs)

They have come close to lifting the title on several occasions in recent years, twice under Maurizio Sarri and once under Carlo Ancelotti.

However, they have finally managed to get over the line under Luciano Spalletti this season, having enjoyed an outstanding campaign that has seen them drop just 19 points all season.

What is the Scudetto?

The Scudetto has become synonymous with winning the Serie A title, but the Scudetto itself is not a trophy.

Despite the accepted jargon in Italy of 'winning the Scudetto' which is associated with winning the Italian league trophy, the Scudetto is more about symbolism than silverware.

The translation of a 'scudetto' is a small shield or badge (the dimunitive version of 'scudo' or shield in Italian), and in this context it refers to the badge that can only be applied to the kits of the champions of Italy's top division (the Serie A).

Juventus jersey with the Scudetto Badge.

That badge, or scudetto, is a patch designed in the colours of the Italian flag and it is applied to the official team jerseys for the following season as a representative symbol of their place as the reigning champions and top team in Italy.

There is also a trophy that is awarded to the Serie A winners, and that silverware was first awarded in 1961, but it has taken a back seat to the more culturally significant Scudetto, which has caught on as the ultimate symbol of league success.

The Scudetto translates from Italian as 'little shield' which refers to the Italian tricolour flag (green, white and red) inside a small gold shield.

That patch is stitched onto the champions kits for the duration of the following season.

Only one team can don the patch in any given season, and that honour only goes to the defending champion.

History of Serie A:

Founded in 1898, Serie A is the top-tier league in Italian football. The winner of Serie A is awarded the Scudetto and the Coppa Campioni d'Italia. 

Since the 1929-30 season, the Serie A has been held in a round-robin format where each club plays the other side in a home and away fixture. Before this, regional and inter-regional rounds were held to determine the winner.

The top division Italian league is considered to be the most tactical and defence-oriented league among the top five leagues in Europe.

Also Read:

Since 2004-05, there have been 20 Italian clubs competing in Serie A every season.

The top-four placed teams in Serie A directly qualify for the UEFA Champions League while the fifth and Coppa Italia winners qualify for the UEFA Europa League.

Meanwhile, the bottom three teams at the end of the season are relegated to Serie B. They are replaced by the top three sides from Serie B.

From 1915 to 1919, the Serie A was postponed due to the First World War while the league was once again cancelled between 1944 and 1945 due to the Second World War.

Who has won the most Serie A titles?

Juventus have been the dominant force in Italy's Serie A since the league's inception in 1929, with the Turin giants winning an incredible total of 36 titles, compared to 19 each for AC Milan and Inter Milan.

Serie A Winners | Juventus | Sportz Point.

Juventud has the most Serie A titles (Image- Sporting News)

In total, 16 clubs have won the Serie A title, but only Juventus and the Milanese pair have won it since 2002.

The Old Lady also hold the record for winning the most consecutive titles in Serie A. Between 2011 and 2020, Juventus won nine Serie A titles on the trot.

List of Serie A winners

  • Juventus (36): 1905, 1925/26, 1930/31 to 1934/35, 1949/50, 1951/52, 1957/58, 1959/60, 1960/61, 1966/67, 1971/72, 1972/73, 1974/75, 1976/77, 1977/78, 1980/81, 1981/82, 1983/84, 1985/86, 1994/95, 1996/97, 1997/98, 2001/02, 2002/03, 2004/05, 2011/12 to 2019/20
  • Inter Milan (19): 1909/10, 1919/20, 1929/30, 1937/38, 1939/40, 1952/53, 1953/54, 1962/63, 1964/65, 1965/66, 1970/71, 1979/80, 1988/89, 2005/06, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2009/10, 2020/21
  • AC Milan (19): 1901, 1906, 1907, 1950/51, 1954/55, 1956/57, 1958/59, 1961/62, 1967/68, 1978/79, 1987/88, 1991/92, 1992/93, 1993/94, 1995/96, 1998/99, 2003/04, 2010/11, 2021/22
  • Genoa (9): 1898, 1899, 1900, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1914/15, 1922/23, 1923/24
  • Torino (7): 1926/27, 1927/28, 1942/43, 1945/46, 1946/47, 1947/48, 1948/49, 1975/76
  • Bologna (7): 1924/25,1928/29, 1935/36, 1936/37, 1938/39, 1940/41, 1963/64
  • Pro Vercelli (7): 1908, 1909, 1910/11, 1911/12, 1912/13, 1920/21, 1921/22 
  • AS Roma (3): 1941/42, 1982/83, 2000/01
  • Napoli: (3): 1986/87, 1989/90, 2022/2023
  • Lazio (2): 1973/74, 1999/00
  • Fiorentina (2): 1955/56, 1968/69
  • Casale (1): 1913/14
  • Novese (1): 1921/22
  • Cagliari (1): 1969/70
  • Verona (1): 1984/85
  • Sampdoria (1): 1990/91

Last 10 Serie A Winners:

2014 Juventus
2015 Juventus
2016 Juventus
2017 Juventus
2018 Juventus
2019 Juventus
2020 Juventus
2021 Internazionale Milan
2022 AC Milan
2023 Napoli
Inter Milan Serie A Ac Milan Juventus Fc Ssc Napoli