Swimming: Emma McKeon first female swimmer to win seven medals at a single Olympics

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Emma Mckeon
Web Stories

The 27-year-old from Brisbane becomes the first female swimmer to win seven medals in Swimming at a single Games. The only men to do it are Michael Phelps, Mark Spitz and Matt Biondi. She is now only the second woman in history to win seven medals in a single Olympics. However, She is behind Soviet gymnast Maria Gorokhovskaya who achieved the feat in 1952 in Swimming. Capping a brilliant performance by the entire Aussie women’s team, McKeon followed her victory in the 50-freestyle earlier in the session to take the butterfly leg on the relay. Cate Campbell closed strong on the freestyle. Moreover, She touches an Olympic record of 3 minutes, 51.60 seconds to edge the two-time defending champion America.
Also Read : Ma Long becomes first man to win four Olympic table tennis golds.

Source :nippon.com

Kaylee McKeown and Chelsea Hodges started things off for the winning Australian team.
Abbey Weitzeil touched in 3:51.73 to give the United States silver. She anchored a team that also included teenagers Regan Smith, Lydia Jacoby and Torri Huske. However, The bronze went to Canada in 3:52.60. Earlier, McKeon won her third Tokyo gold when she dipped below the magic 24-second mark to win the women’s 50m freestyle title. However, The 27-year-old hit the wall in a new Olympic-record time of 23.81 ahead of Swedish world record-holder Sarah Sjostrom (24.07) and Denmark’s defending champion Pernille Blume (24.21).

McKeon also lowered the Olympic record in both the heats and semifinals. Also there was no stopping her as she added the one-lap sprint to her 100m title. Moreover, She also won gold in the 4x100m relay while taking bronze in the 100m butterfly. However, She 4x200m relay and 4x100m mixed medley relay for a hugely successful Olympics.

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

ICC ODI BATSMAN RANKING Top 10 iconic spells in ODI World Cup history Run-machine Virat’s ODI World Cup journey Ravichandran Ashwin replaces Axar Patel in the ODI World Cup squad India enters World Cup 2023 as Number 1 team ICC Men’s ODI Team Rankings Kushal Malla breaks Rohit Sharma’s fastest T20I hundred record Five players not backed by Rohit Sharma as Indian captain Most Successful batting pairs in One Day International Players with most centuries in ODI world cup