French Open Winners: Last 10 years (Women)

The French Open has been a witness of several unexpected moments. Let us have a look at the female French Open winners of the last 10 years.

Payal Debnath
New Update
French Open Winners: Last 10 years (Men) | Sportz Point

The French Open, often known as Roland-Garros, is an annual tennis tournament held at the Stade Roland-Garros in Paris. The French Open is the second Grand Slam of the year. It is the only Grand Slam played on clay court, making it one of the most anticipated tennis events of the year. It is thought to be one of the most arduous grand slams to win, as the best-of-five-sets format on clay makes the battle extremely exhausting, and only the fittest players can emerge as the French Open Winners.

However, during its 131 years of reigning, the French Open has been a witness of several unexpected moments. From one man unbelievably acquiring 13 French Open titles to the rise of numerous unexpected winners, the event has seen it all. Let us have a trip to memory lane and look at the female French Open winners from the Last 10 years.

2014 Maria Sharapova vs Simona Halep 6–4, 6–7(5–7), 6–4 Maria Sharapova
2015 Serena Williams vs Lucie Šafářová 6–3, 6–7(2–7), 6–2 Serena Williams
2016 Garbiñe Muguruza vs Serena Williams 7–5, 6–4 Garbiñe Muguruza
2017 Jeļena Ostapenko vs Simona Halep 4–6, 6–4, 6–3 Jeļena Ostapenko
2018 Simona Halep vs Sloane Stephens 3–6, 6–4, 6–1 Simona Halep
2019 Ashleigh Barty vs Markéta Vondroušová 6–1, 6–3 Ashleigh Barty
2020 Iga Świątek vs Sofia Kenin 6–4, 6–1 Iga Świątek
2021 Barbora Krejčíková vs Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova 6–1, 2–6, 6–4 Barbora Krejčíková
2022 Iga Świątek vs Coco Gauff 6–1, 6–3 Iga Świątek
2023 Iga Świątek vs Karolína Muchová 6–2, 5–7, 6–4 Iga Świątek

Read also: Australian Open 2022: Ashleigh Barty brings back the glory

French Open Winners: (Women)

1. French Open 2014 Winner- Maria Sharapova

French Open 2014 | Maria Sharapova |

Image Source: The Guardian

Maria Sharapova utilized her fighting spirit to beat Simona Halep in a thrilling final and earned her second French Open title, after bowing her head down to defeat in the previous year. Although, the victory was not easy to come, as Halep put up an excellent fight against the Russian. The day, however, belonged to 'Masha'.

In three tense sets(6–4, 6–7(5–7), 6–4), Sharapova played as cold-bloodedly as she had ever done in defying the legitimate challenge of young Simona Halep. Hence, she was able to win five Grand Slam titles. Also, the triumph put her in joint 11th place on the Open era list alongside Martina Hingis.

2. French Open 2015 Winner- Serena Williams

French Open 2015 | Serena Williams |

Image Source: Sports Mole

The Sovereign of Power Tennis won the 2015 French Open women's title, defeating Lucie Safarova 6-3, 6-7 (2), 6-2. In a spectacular match, the 28-year-old was putting up a fantastic effort against Serena. Although, she didn't stand a chance against Serena's thunderous shots in the end. However, after this triumph, Williams also became the first woman to win consecutive U.S. Open, Australian Open, and French Open titles since Monica Seles in 1991-92.

Read also: French Open Winners: Last 10 years (Men)

3. French Open 2016 Winner- Garbiñe Muguruza

French Open 2016 | Garbiñe Muguruza |

Image Source: Toronto Star

22-Year-old Garbine Muguruza stunned tennis fans when she upset Serena Williams at the 2016 French Open. As a result, the American's dream to win a 22nd Grand Slam singles title and tie Steffi Graf's Open-era record was dashed.

Nevertheless, Muguruza upset the former world number 1 in straight sets(7–5, 6–4) to win her maiden Grand Slam title at the French Open. Thereafter, Muguruza became the first Spanish woman to win the championship since Arantxa Sánchez Vicario defeated Monica Seles in the final in 1998.

4. French Open 2017 Winner- Jeļena Ostapenko

French Open 2017 | Jeļena Ostapenko |

Image Source: Tennis365

Jelena Ostapenko won her maiden Grand Slam championship as a professional in the 2017 French Open women's final. She hushed the naysayers and demonstrated that she belongs amongst stars by becoming the first unseeded player to win at Roland Garros.

However, she fought back to win 6-4, 6-3 after losing the first set 4-6 to former No. 3 Simona Halep. Thus, Ostapenko became the youngest first-time Grand Slam champion since Svetlana Kuznetsova won the US Open at the age of 19 in 2004.

5. French Open 2018 Winner- Simona Halep

French Open 2018 | Simona Halep |

Image Source: Samaa Tv

Halep seemed practically helpless against Sloane Stephens in the opening set of the French Open Women's singles final, trailing 3-6, 0-2 at one point. But in the second set, Halep turned up the heat with a ferocity that helped her capture her maiden Grand Slam title with a 3-6, 6-4, 6-1 victory. After losing at the Australian Open, Halep not only quenched her thirst, but she also became the first Romanian to win a Grand Slam since 1978.

6. French Open 2019 Winner- Ashleigh Barty

French Open 2019 | Ashleigh Barty |

Image Source: Sky Sports

Ashleigh Barty, a three-time grand slam champion, became the first Australian women's singles player to win the French Open since Margaret Court in 1973. In a one-sided final, she thrashed Marketa Vondrousova, a Czech player, 6-1, 6-3. As a result, the Aussie earned the prestigious trophy and effectively carried her country's expectations on her shoulders.

Read also:Ashleigh Barty: How did cricket contribute to her win in the Australian Open 2022?

7. French Open 2020 Winner- Iga Świątek

French Open 2020 | Iga Świątek |

Image Source: TennisHead

Iga Swiatek, a 19-year-old tennis sensation, won the 2020 French Open in straight sets, crowning herself as the sport's latest superstar. The result was never in doubt, as the girl appeared to be completely unfazed throughout the game, and she triumphed in just one hour and 24 minutes. Nonetheless, with this victory by her side, Swiatek became the first Pole to win a Grand Slam singles title.

8. French Open 2021 Winner- Barbora Krejčíková

French Open 2021 | Barbora Krejčíková |

Image Source: Lequipe

Unseeded Barbora Krejcikova won her first Grand Slam singles title at the French Open 2021, defeating Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova of Russia to become the first Czech woman to be awarded the title in 40 years. However, Krejcikova, playing just her fifth main draw in a Slams singles event, triumphed 6-1, 2-6, 6-4 for a second career title. As a result, The champion followed in the footsteps of compatriot Hana Mandlikova, who won the title in 1981 in Paris.

Read also: ATP Rankings: Top 10 Ranked Tennis Players in the world

9. French Open 2022 winner- Iga Swiatek

French Open 2022 winner- Iga Swiatek | Sportz Point

Image- The New York Times

World Number One Iga Swiatek of Poland won the French Open 2022 Women's Singles Title by beating US teenager Coco Gauf. The 21-year-old clinched her second title in three years in straight sets 6-1, 6-3 over Gauff. In addition, she is the youngest player ranked in the top ten. Iga was the 2020 French Open champion and is the first player representing Poland to win a Grand Slam singles title.

10. French Open 2023 winner- Iga Swaitek

French Open 2023 winner- Iga Swaitek | Sportz Point

Image- Vogue

Iga Swiatek defeated Karolína Muchová to win the French Open 2023 title. Iga rewrote the history books with her third French Open title. She became only the second women's player to defend the Roland Garros title this century after Justine Henin did it in 2006. The 22-year-old also became the youngest player to win the Claycourt Major in consecutive years since Monica Seles (19) in 1992. She is also the youngest to win four Grand Slams since Serena Williams (20) in 2002.

Iga Swiatek French Open Serena Williams Maria Sharapova Ashleigh Barty Simona Halep Barbora Krejcikova Jelena Ostapenko Tennis History