Indian Premier League teams who changed their names

The 17th season of the Indian Premier League started with Chennai Super Kings beating Royal Challengers Bangaluru by 6 wickets in Chennai.

With Virat Kohli's RCB changing its name in their unboxing event on March 19, it was yet another addition to teams who had decided to change their name over the years.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru

Notably, RCB have undergone a significant change, transitioning its franchise name from Royal Challengers Bangalore to Royal Challengers Bengaluru during their unboxing event.

Franchises altering their names

This isn't the first instance of a franchise altering its name in the IPL, previously Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad have made similar changes.

Deccan Chargers

Sunrisers Hyderabad, earlier called Deccan Chargers, changed their name to Sunrisers Hyderabad back in 2013. Since then the franchise have been able to win the tournament as well.

Delhi Capitals

Following Sunrisers Hyderabad, there was also a rebranding of Delhi's team. In 2018, the Delhi Daredevils franchise was transformed into Delhi Capitals. However, that did not turn their fortunes. Till now, they have not been able to win the tournament.

Punjab Kings

Prior to RCB, the most recent instance of a franchise altering its name occurred in 2021. Kings XI Punjab rebranded themselves as Punjab kings ahead of the 14th season in 2021.