Bengal Cricket Exclusive: From Jitesh Sharma, Rishi Dhawan to Lalit Yadav, the P.Sen trophy will have a star-studded comeback

P. Sen Memorial Tournament will be making a comeback in Bengal Cricket after six years with many IPL players featuring for different teams.
Jitesh Sharma scored 309 runs with a strike rate of 156.06 in IPL 2023. Image: Associate Press
Jitesh Sharma scored 309 runs with a strike rate of 156.06 in IPL 2023. Image: Associate Press

P. Sen Memorial trophy will be back in Bengal Cricket after a long six years gap. One of the most prestigious tournaments in Bengal was last played back in the 2015-16 season. Post that, due to scheduling problems, the Cricket Association of Bengal could not manage to organise the tournament. However, this season, the tournament will start on 18th June and will be played between 10 teams.

P. Sen Memorial Trophy is one of the most iconic tournaments of Bengal cricket where in the past players like Sachin Tendulkar and MS Dhoni have played in this tournament. Just like the previous years, this year also the fans will get to see some stars of Indian cricket in this tournament. Sportz Point gave a tour of the Kolkata Maidan to find out the names of the Indian cricket stars who will be coming to Kolkata to play in the P. Sen Memorial tournament.

Jitesh Sharma and Rishi Dhawan to play for Bhawanipore Club

Jitesh Sharma, who is considered to be one of the brightest youngsters in Indian Cricket will be seen donning the Bengal Cricket's Bhawanipore Club's jersey during the P. Sen trophy. The Punjab Kings star will be one of the attractions of the tournament.

Jitesh Sharma scored 309 runs with a strike rate of 156.06 in IPL 2023. Image: Associate Press

Along with him, Himachal Pradesh captain and another IPL star Rishi Dhawan will also be featuring for Bhawanipore Club. In addition, Chirag Jani will also play for them. As per reports, Bhawanipore tried to get in KKR captain Nitish Rana for the tournament but eventually, the deal did not work out for the J.C Mukherjee winners.

Lait Yadav will feature for Mohun Bagan AC

Lait Yadav celebrating a wicket during his time for Delhi Capitals in IPL 2023. Image: IPLT20

Lalit Yadav, the Delhi Capitals star will be playing along with his fellow DC teammate Abishek Porel for Mohun Bagan Athletic Club. Along with them, former Mumbai Indians all-rounder Deepak Punia will also be playing for the Green and Maroon. Bengal cricket giants Mohun Bagan tried to rope in Rinku Singh for the tournament but that did not work out for them. Without any major success this season, Mohun Bagan will be eyeing the prestigious P. Sen Memorial Trophy.

Saurabh Tiwary is set to play for Khiddirpore Club

One of the biggest hitters of Indian cricket, Saurabh Tiwary will be playing for Khiddirpore Club. Khiddirpore, which had a very good season in Kolkata, will be giving their best to beat Mohun Bagan in their qualifying match. Anukul Roy was supposed to come along with him, but as per reports, he will not be coming to Kolkata.

Bengal Cricket's P. Sen tournament was christened after the Late Prabir Sen, an illustrious cricketer who played for Bengal. The tournament will be played in a knockout one-day format between ten teams. The tournament will kick off with Mohun Bagan vs Aryan match at Eden Gardens and Bhawanipore vs Khiddirpore Club at Jadavpur University's second campus ground.

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.