Fastest Century in the IPL Playoffs

Shubman Gill became the player to score the fastest century in the history of IPL Playoffs during Qualifier 2 against Mumbai Indians.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Fastest Century | Fastest Century in the IPL Playoffs | Sportz Point

Gujarat Titans batter Shubman Gill slammed his third hundred in the IPL 2023 season and went past 800 runs to become the Orange Cap holder. Shubman Gill is looking unstoppable right now. He scored the century against Mumbai Indians in Qualifier 2 which helped Gujarat Titans to score a huge total of 233 runs. Before this, the 23-year-old star batter had hit tons against Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad. After this hundred, Gill climbed to the third position in the list of players to hit the most centuries in an IPL season. Virat Kohli and Jos Buttler smashed four centuries in the season to top the list.

Read Also: Shubman Gill slams his third century in IPL 2023

Fastest Century in the IPL Playoffs

Gill also became the seventh batter to score a century in the IPL playoffs. However, he is the youngest batter, aged 23 years and 260 days to score a hundred in Playoffs. Gill is now the second Indian batter to score 800 or more runs in a single season after Kohli's tally of 973 runs in 2016. Overall, he stands third in the list with Buttler (863 runs in 2016) standing second. Gill now holds the remarkable record for the highest individual score in the IPL Playoffs.

Fastest Century: Shubman Gill | Sportz Point

Image - BCCI

Shubman Gill equaled Wriddhiman Saha and Rajat Patidar in terms of scoring the fastest century in the IPL playoffs. Saha scored a century in 49 balls against Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2014 IPL Final. Rajat Patidar completed his century off 49 balls against Lucknow Super Giants in the Eliminator match of IPL 2022.

He became the first uncapped batsman to score the fastest century in a playoff match in this cash-rich league. Shubman Gill scored 129 runs in just 60 deliveries with 10 sixes and 7 boundaries. The fourth on the list is Virender Sehwag who scored a century in just 50 deliveries against Chennai Super Kings. Murali Vijay is 5th on the list who scored the century in 51 deliveries against Delhi Daredevils in 2012.

Fastest Century in the IPL Playoffs (Top Five)

No Player Total Score Balls Faced Against Team Season
1. Shubman Gill (KKR) 129(60) 49 Gujarat Titans 2023
2. Rajat Patidar (RCB) 114*(54) 49 Lucknow Super Giants 2022
3. Wriddhiman Saha 115(55) 49 Kolkata Knight Riders 2014
4. Virender Sehwag 122(58) 50 Chennai Super Kings 2014
5. Murali Vijay 113(58) 51 Delhi Daredevils 2012
Bcci Indian Cricket Team T20I Cricket Shubman Gill Ipl Indian Premier League Ipl 2023 Wriddhiman Saha Virender Sehwag