From Lala Amarnath to Yashasvi Jaiswal: Here is the full list of Indian players to score a century on Test debut

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Century on Test debut | From Lala Amarnath to Yashasvi Jaiswal: Here is the full list of Indian players to score a century on Test debut | Sportz Point
Jaiswal scored 171 in his debut test match for India (Image - Twitter)
Yashasvi Jaiswal became the 17th Indian batsman to score a century on Test debut for India. Lala Amarnath was the first to achieve that feat.
Web Stories

Test cricket is the format that tests the patience of a batsman to a great extent. Any batsman who plays for the country wants to hit a Test hundred for the team. Scoring a century is already a huge thing but scoring a century in the debut match is an unbelievable feat in itself. There have been some players who have started their careers with magnificent performances and have scored a hundred on debut. Among the Indian players, Lala Amarnath was the first one to do so. After him, 16 more Indian players scored a century on Test debut. In this article, we are going to list all 17 Indian players who have achieved this milestone.

Read Also: “Bhagwan hai:” Yashasvi Jaiswal shares emotional message after scoring a century on test debut

List of Indian players to score a century on Test debut:

Lala Amarnath was the first Indian batsman to score a century on Test debut. He scored 118 against England at the Gymkhana Ground (Azad Maidan) in Mumbai in December 1933. Now, Yashasvi Jaiswal became the 17th Indian player to score a century on his Test debut after he made a hundred against West Indies in the first match of a two-game series at Windsor Park in Roseau, Dominica on Thursday. He scored 171 runs after facing 387 deliveries and became the third-highest run-scorer on Test debut for India.

Shreyas Iyer was the 16th Indian player to score a century on his Test debut when he made 105 in the first innings of the first match against New Zealand at Kanpur in 2021. In July 1959, Abbas Ali Baig became the first Indian player to score an overseas hundred on his debut Test. Baig scored 112 runs against England at Manchester. At 20 years and 126 days, Baig holds the record for the youngest Indian batsman to score a hundred overseas on Test debut. Between 1952 to 1980, as many as six Indian players scored centuries on their Test debut. 

Sourav Ganguly made it memorable as he scored his test debut century (131) at the Lord’s against England in 1996. One of India’s most ruthless openers Virender Sehwag scored his test debut against South Africa in Bloemfontein and scored a hundred (105). Suresh Raina is also on the list as he achieved that impressive feat in 2010 against Sri Lanka in Colombo.

Shikhar Dhawan holds the record for the fastest Test hundred on debut. The left-handed batter reached his hundred in 85 balls against Australia at Mohali in March 2013. He also became the oldest Indian to do so at 27 years and 99 days. He also holds the record for the highest score by an Indian on a Test debut with 187.

Prithvi Shaw is still the youngest Test debutant Indian centurion in just 18 years and 329 days. The Mumbai batsman achieved the feat against West Indies at Rajkot. In 2018, he scored 134 and helped India win the match by an inning and 272 runs. This was the biggest margin of victory for India in Test cricket.

Debut Test century by Indian batsmen: Full list:

Player RunsOppositionVenueYear
Lala Amarnath118EnglandMumbaiDecember 1933
Deepak Shodhan110PakistanKolkataDecember 1952
AG Kripal Singh100*New ZealandHyderabad (Deccan)November 1955
Abbas Ali Baig112EnglandManchester July 1959
Hanumant Singh105England DelhiFebruary 1964
Gundappa Visvanath137AustraliaKanpurNovember 1969
Surinder Amarnath124New ZealandAucklandJanuary 1976
Mohammad Azharuddin110EnglandKolkataDecember 1984
Pravin Amre103 South AfricaDurbanNovember 1992
Sourav Ganguly131EnglandLord’sJune 1996
Virender Sehwag105South AfricaBloemfonteinNovember 2001
Suresh Raina120Sri LankaColomboJuly 2010
Shikhar Dhawan187AustraliaMohaliMarch 2013
Rohit Sharma177West Indies KolkataNovember 2013
Prithvi Shaw134 West Indies RajkotOctober 2018
Shreyas Iyer 105New Zealand KanpurNovember 2021
Yashasvi Jaiswal171West Indies RoseauJuly 2023

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

Miller, Marsh lead batting charts in India since World Cup 2019 Jaiswal becomes youngest player to score T20I century for India Top-10: Legends who never won the ODI World Cup Ben Stokes sensational record in ODI World Cup Asian Games 2023 Medal Tally Updates Chahal is disappointed about not getting selected for World Cup 2023 Shaheen Afridi eyes all-time Pakistan record The most thrilling matches in ODI World Cup history Top 5 : Indian bowlers with most ODI wickets since 2019 WC 8 players part of India’s 2019 WC squad that will not play 2023 WC