Geet Puri's three wickets and Writtick's half-century help the Sobisco Smashers Malda register a 6 wicket-victory in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024

Geet Puri took three wickets while Writtick Chatterjee scored a match-winning half-century to help Sobisco Smashers Malda beat Rashmi Medinipur Wizards by 6 wickets in the Bengal Pro T20 League 2024.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Pro T20 League: A comfortable 6-wicket victory for Sobisco Smashers Malda

A comfortable 6-wicket victory for Sobisco Smashers Malda

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Sobisco Smashers Malda registered a comfortable 6-wicket victory over Rashmi Medinipur Wizards at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata in the ongoing Bengal Pro T20 League 2024. For Malda, Geet Puri dropped an amazing spell. He bagged three wickets as the Medinipur Wizards could only manage to put 97 runs on the scoreboard. Writtick Chatterjee picked up two wickets for Malda and then went on to score a match-winning unbeaten half-century to take his side over the line.

Read Also: Shrayosi Aich bags 3 as Murshidabad Kueens win in Women’s Bengal Pro T20 League

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024: What happened in the game between Malda and Medinipur?

Medinipur Wizards batted first and it didn't go their way. Openers Kaushik Maity (7) and Vivek Singh (2) got off to a poor start. Writtick picked up both of the openers' wickets in the second over of the inning. Skipper Sudip Chatterjee (18) and Wriddhiman Saha (21) tried to build a partnership but that didn't last long.

Pro T20 League: Saha scored 21 runs against Malda
Saha scored 21 runs against Malda

Akhil sent both of them to the dressing room. Priyanshu Shrivastava scored 21 runs before losing his wicket to Ramesh Prasad. Saurabh Singh then dismissed Arin Roy (5) and it was all Malda with their brilliant bowling attack. Thanks to Gaurav Chauhan who scored 17 runs to take Medinipur to a total of 97. Geet scalped the wickets of Gaurav, Arjun, and Shreyan Chakraborty in the end. It wasn't enough and Malda completed the chase quite comfortably.

Read Also: Suraj shines as Servotech Siliguri Strikers defend 141 in Bengal Pro T20 League opener

It was not a pretty start for Malda either. They lost the wickets of Jayojit Basu (4) and Ranjot Singh Khaira (7) inside the first three overs. But, Writtick stood tall and delivered a great inning. When Malda were losing wickets at the other end, Writtick hit some boundaries to take off the pressure.

Writtick Chaterjee won the Player of the Match Award for his all-round performance
Writtick Chatterjee won the Player of the Match Award for his all-round performance

Bhoirob de Sarkar (4) and Writam Porel (20) couldn't contribute much but Akhil Played a short but strong inning at the end to help Writtick take the team over the line. Writtick finished on 50 off 38 balls, hitting 4 fours and 2 sixes. For Medinipur, Vaibhav Yadav bowled a sensational 4-over spell. He leaked only 23 runs and returned with three 3 important wickets. 

This was just the second match of the inaugural edition of the tournament and Sobisco Smashers Malda are at the top following this victory over Rashmi Medinipur Wizards.

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024 Rashmi Medinipur Wizards Sobisco Smashers Malda