GT vs KKR: Rashid Khan becomes only the second IPL captain to take a hat-trick

Rashid Khan picked up the first hat trick of IPL 2023 in the GT vs KKR match & becomes the second IPL captain to take a hat trick in IPL.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
GT vs KKR: Rashid Khan | Sportz Point

Rashid started by dismissing Andre Russell. Russell, batting on a single, tried to smash a back-of-a-length delivery but only managed an inside edge that ended up in the hand of KS Bharat behind the stumps. The GT captain took a review, and the umpire had to reverse the decision. Sunil Narine followed next and failed to clear the deep mid-wicket boundary, while Shardul Thakur could not pick up the googly as the ball hit the back leg. Although Kolkata won the GT vs KKR game after Rinku Singh smashed 5 sixes in the final over.

Read Also: GT vs KKR: Rinku Singh hits 5 sixes in an over to help KKR win a thriller of a game in Ahmedabad by 3 wickets

GT vs KKR:

The Titans turned around the game when Alzarri Joseph dismissed the dangerous Venkatesh Iyer for a 39-ball 83 in his final over to finish with figures of 4-0-27-2. Iyer built a 100-run stand with Nitish Rana, who also fell to Joseph. Rashid conceded 35 runs in his first three wicketless overs. He returned to pick up three wickets and become only the second IPL captain to pick a hat-trick. Shane Watson was the first captain who picked a hattrick as a captain in IPL 2014.

GT vs KKR: Rashid Khan had a poor day with the ball to start with and then turned the game around | Sportz Point

Rashid Khan had a poor day with the ball to start with and then turned the game around

Image - BCCI

Despite Rashid Khan's heroics with the ball, middle-order batter Rinku Singh came out on top as KKR snatched victory from the jaws of defeat. Needing 29 to win off the final over, the left-handed batter smashed five consecutive sixes to send KKR fans into delirium, staying unbeaten on 48 off 21. Yash Dayal, the left-arm pacer sent down two full tosses, and Singh did not miss out on the same.

Bcci T20I Cricket Shubman Gill Shardul Thakur Hardik Pandya Rashid Khan Ipl Kolkata Knight Riders Venkatesh Iyer Ipl 2023 Gujarat Titans Lockie Ferguson