Highest Individual Score in IPL History

Chris Gayle ""The Universe Boss"" holds the record of the highest individual score in IPL history. His 175-run inning is yet to be broken.

Abishek Goswami
New Update

Scoring a century in the T20 format is always tough. There are some World Class players who have mastered that art long ago. IPL is the most entertaining and competitive T20 League in World Cricket. Every Year, some nearly impossible records are also broken. But Gayle's highest individual score in a single match is yet to be broken till now. Almost 10 years and still no one has succeeded to break that record. Chris Gayle "The Universe Boss" holds the record of the highest individual score in IPL history. He scored 175* runs off 66 balls against Pune at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, during the 2013 season. He reached that mark after breaking McCullum's 158* runs inning which he made in the first match of the inaugural IPL in 2008.

Read Also: Most expensive over by a bowler in IPL

IPL: Highest Individual Score (Top 5 Players)

1. Chris Gayle: 175* vs. Pune (2013)

Bowlers always found difficulties to bowl against the Universal Boss. Gayle became a nightmare for the Pune bowlers on 23rd April 2013 in Bengaluru. His 175-run innings off just 66 balls, the highest individual score in the IPL history, was filled with 17 sixes and 13 boundaries. The Bangalore team put up a mammoth total of 263 runs on the board. They won the match by a huge margin of 130 runs.

IPL: Chris Gayle | Sportz Point

Image - BCCI

2. Brendon McCullum: 158* vs. Bangalore (2008)

McCullum took the Indian T20 League by storm when he smashed the Bangalore bowlers all around the stadium on his way to scoring 158 runs off 78 deliveries in the very first match of the Indian T20 League in 2008. This is till date the second-highest individual score and it was also the only century by a Kolkata batter in the league. In IPL 2023, Venkatesh Iyer became the second batter of KKR who scored a century. McCullum's inning took Kolkata to a huge score of 222 runs and the team eventually won the match by 140 runs.

IPL: Brendon McCullum | Sportz Point

Image - BCCI

3. Quinton de Kock: 140* vs. Kolkata (2022)

The South African left-handed batter played a memorable knock of 140 not out off 70 balls in Lucknow's match against Kolkata. He capitalized on a dropped chance in only the 3rd over of the match and made full use of the opportunity. The Kolkata bowlers struggled throughout the match. They weren't able to take a single wicket and were given a target of 210 runs. Lucknow bowlers also struggled but somehow managed to win the match by 2 runs in the end.

IPL: Quinton de Kock | Sportz Point

Image -

4. AB de Villiers: 133* vs. Mumbai (2015)

The history of the Indian T20 League and T20 cricket would be incomplete without the mention of AB de Villiers aka "Mr. 360." Out of his 3 centuries, an impressive 2 make it to the list of top 10 individual scores in the league. His blistering inning of 133 runs in just 59 balls against Mumbai in 2015 is the 4th highest individual score in a single match of this famous league. The 215-run partnership between him and Kohli helped the Bangalore team post a 235-run score and beat Mumbai by 39 runs.

IPL: AB de Villiers | Sportz Point

Image - ESPNcricinfo

5. KL Rahul: 132* vs. Bangalore (2020)

KL Rahul scored an unbeaten 132 runs while playing for Punjab against Bangalore in the 2020 season. This is the 5th highest individual score in the Indian T20 League so far. He reached that mark in just 69 balls, hitting a total of 14 fours and 7 sixes. Punjab scored 206 runs for the loss of 3 wickets and bowled out Bangalore for just 109 runs.

Kl Rahul | Sportz Point

Image - ESPNcricinfo

Read Also: SRH vs DC: IPL 2023 Match preview, Possible lineups, Pitch report, and Dream XI team prediction

IPL: Highest Individual Score (Top 10 Players)

Player Runs Balls SR 6s 4s Team Against Venue Year
Chris Gayle 175* 66 265.15 17 13 Bangalore Pune Bengaluru 2013
Brendon McCullum 158* 73 216.43 13 10 Kolkata Bangalore Bengaluru 2008
Quinton de Kock 140* 70 200 10 10 Lucknow Kolkata Navi Mumbai 2022
AB de Villiers 133* 59 225.42 4 19 Bangalore Mumbai Mumbai 2015
KL Rahul 132* 69 191.30 7 14 Punjab Bangalore Dubai 2020
AB de Villiers 129* 52 248.07 12 10 Bangalore Gujarat Bengaluru 2016
Chris Gayle 128* 62 206.45 13 7 Bangalore Delhi Delhi 2012
Rishabh Pant 128* 63 203.17 7 15 Delhi Hyderabad Delhi 2018
Murali Vijay 127 56 226.78 11 8 Chennai Rajasthan Chennai 2010
David Warner 126 59 213.55 8 10 Hyderabad Kolkata Hyderabad 2017

Highest Individual Score in IPL 2023

Position Player Runs  Team Against Location
1 Venkatesh Iyer 104 Kolkata Mumbai Mumbai
2 Harry Brook 100* Hyderabad Kolkata Kolkata
3 Shikhar Dhawan 99* Punjab Hyderabad Hyderabad
4 Ruturaj Gaikwad 92 Chennai Bangalore Ahmedabad
5 Shikhar Dhawan 86* Punjab Rajasthan Guwahati
Bcci Indian Cricket Team T20I Cricket Ruturaj Gaikwad Kl Rahul David Warner Ab De Villiers Shikhar Dhawan Rishabh Pant Ipl Kolkata Knight Riders Venkatesh Iyer Quinton De Kock Brendon Mccullum Indian Premier League Ipl 2023 Punjab Kings Chennai Super Kings Lucknow Super Giants Royal Challengers Bangalore Chris Gayle