Highest score in an ODI inning: Cricket records

Highest score in an ODI inning: Rohit Sharma's 264 against Sri Lanka in 2014 is still remains as the highest individual score in ODI cricket.

Arijit Barua
New Update
Highest score in an ODI inning: Cricket records | Sportz Point

One Day International Cricket is one of the most popular formats of cricket. It is a limited-overs cricket unlike Test cricket and it is limited to 50 overs per innings. Previously it was limited to 55 to 60 overs. Rohit Sharma has the record for the highest runs 264 in an innings in ODI cricket as of now.

Highest score in an ODI inning: Cricket records | Sportz Point

Ishan Kishan

Image - India Today

Also Read: Highest Individual Score in T20 World Cup

Sachin Tendulkar was the first cricketer who scored a double century in the history of ODI cricket. Prior to this record, the highest run record of 194 in an innings was with Pakistani cricketer Saeed Anwar and Zimbabwean Charles Coventry.

Indian cricket team captain Rohit Sharma scored 264 runs off 173 balls during the fourth ODI of Sri Lanka tour of India in 2014, which to date remains the highest individual score in ODI cricket.

By the time India entered the fourth ODI, the Men in Blue had already conquered the series, winning each of their first three matches. In what was a rather dead rubber, Rohit Sharma went on to score more runs alone than the entire Sri Lankan team could manage (251).

During his record innings, he first played a 201-run partnership with Virat Kohli followed by a 128-run stand off 59 balls with Robin Uthappa as India posted 404/5 on board. India's deadly bowling attack did the rest as the team registered their fourth victory by an impressive margin of 153 runs.

Indian batter Ishan Kishan enters the top 10 list

Keeper batter Ishan Kishan is the latest entry in this list as he notched up a double hundred in just 126 balls against Bangladesh. Kishan hammered 210 runs in 131 balls including 24 boundaries and two over boundaries.

Interestingly enough, by that time, he had already breached the 200-run benchmark in the 50-over format. During the seventh and the final ODI of Australia tour of India in 2013, the Indian opener smashed 209 off 158 balls to become only the third player to cross the 200-run landmark. At the time of writing, however, this is the sixth-highest individual score in the format.

Meanwhile, second place belongs to New Zealand's Martin Guptill who smashed an unbeaten 163-ball 237 against West Indies during the quarter-final of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. During his innings that lasted 223 minutes, he hit 24 fours and 11 sixes.

Following Guptill in the list for the highest individual score in ODI is former India opener Virender Sehwag. On December 8, 2011, Sehwag, captaining the India team against West Indies, scored 219 runs off 149 balls as the hosts posted 418/5 on board. During that carnage in Indore, Sehwag hit 25 fours which is the joint-most number of boundaries a player has hit in an ODI inning.

Read Also: Indian Women's cricket: Most Runs in Test Cricket

The likes of Chris Gayle (215) and Fakhar Zaman (210*) complete the top five list for the highest individual score in ODI cricket. Interestingly enough, only eight players have crossed the 200-run landmark in the 50-over format, with Sachin Tendulkar being the first-ever player to do so. Furthermore, Rohit Sharma is the only player to score more than 200 runs on three different occasions.

Highest score in an ODI inning:

Player Team Opposition Runs Balls 4s 6s
Rohit Sharma India Sri Lanka 264 173 33 9
Martin Guptill New Zealand West Indies 237* 163 24 11
Amelia Kerr New Zealand Women Ireland Women 232 145 31 2
Belinda Clark Australia Women Denmark Women 229* 155 22 0
Virender Sehwag India West Indies 219 149 25 7
Chris Gayle West Indies Zimbabwe 215 147 10 16
Fakhar Zaman Pakistan Zimbabwe 210* 156 24 5
Ishan Kishan India Bangladesh 210 131 24 10
Rohit Sharma India Australia 209 158 12 16
Rohit Sharma India Sri Lanka 208* 153 13 12

N.B: Last Updated on 10/12/2022.

Sachin Tendulkar Martin Guptill Rohit Sharma Ishan Kishan Virender Sehwag Chris Gayle Fakhar Zaman Amelia Kerr