ICC T20 World Cup: Last 6 “Player Of The Series” Winners

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

Virat Kolhi the 2 times Player of the series award winner in T20 World Cup | SportzPoint.com
ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 is starting from today in UAE as SportzPoint comes with the "Player Of The Series" award winners in the last 6 editions.
Web Stories

After a lot of delay and anticipation, ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is finally happening from 17th October 2021 in UAE and Oman. However, India won the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007 against Pakistan. Since then, players have evolved and gathered a lot of experience in this sport. Meanwhile, in this article, SportzPoint.com will show you the “Player of the Series” award winners of the last 6 editions in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Also Read: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 fixture and schedule

Shahid Afridi | Pakistan | 2007

2007 ICC T20 World Cup Player of the Series | Shahid Afridi  | SportzPoint.com
Image – ICC

Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi won the inauguration ICC Men’s T20 World Cups player of the series award in 2007. Although, his team loses against India in the first edition of the T20 World Cup. In the 2007 World Cup games, Afridi took a total of 12 wickets and also scored 91 runs in those matches. He adjusted the “Player Of The Serirs Award” for his remarkable performance in the T20 World Cup hosted by South Africa.

Read Also: T20 World Cup 2021: Venues that will host the matches in detail

Tillakaratne Dilshan | Sri Lanka | 2009

2009 Player of the Series  | Tillakaratne Dilshan  | SportzPoint.com
Image – ICC

Sri Lankan legend of the game, Tillakaratne Dilshan won the player of the series award in the 2009 ICC T20 World Cup. Dilshan scored a huge 317 runs (most runs) in those matches with an average of 52.83. The Men’s T20 World Cup 2009 was hosted by England and Pakistan was the champions of the second edition.

Kevin Pietersen | England | 2010

ICC T20 World Cup 2010 Player of the Series |  Kevin Pietersen | SportzPoiint.com
Image – ICC

In the very next year, ICC decides to host their 3rd edition of the ICC men’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies. English batsman, Kevin Pietersen scored 248 runs in the tournament with an impressive average of 62. Meanwhile, with Pietersen’s brilliant performance England managed to win the T20 World Cup that year. This was England’s first-ever World Cup win came in 2010.,

Also Read: Every squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Shane Watson | Australia | 2012

2012 ICC T20 World Cup Player of the Series Shane Watson  | Sportzpoint.com
Image – ICC

Australian batting all-rounder Shane Watson scored 249 runs in the 2012 World Cup matches also took 11 wickets in those games. For his brilliant performance in the edition, he adjusted the “player of the series” award in the ICC T20 World Cup 2012. Darren Sammy lead West Indies won the T20 World Cup 2012 with host country Sri Lanka finishes as the runner-ups.

Virat Kohli | India | 2014

ICC T20 World Cup 2014 Player of the Series | Virat Kohl | SportzPoint.com
Image – ICC

Current Indian Captain Virat Kohli won the “player of the series” award in the men’s T20 World cup 2014 for his brilliant performance with the bat. Meanwhile, Kohli scored 319 runs (most runs) with an unbelievable average of 106.33 in that edition. Sri Lanka thrashed India in the finals to win their first T20 World Cup title in 2014. Bangladesh was the host country for this edition as India finishes as runner-up.

Also Raed: T20 World Cup: India’s Probable XI

Virat Kohli | India | 2016

Virat Kohli in 2016 World Cup | SportzPoint.com
Image – NDTV Sports

Indian skipper Virat Kohli again manages to win the player of the series award for the T20 World Cup 2016 edition. Kohli again smashes 273 runs in the tournament but with a better average of 136.50. Although India finishes their journey in the semi-finals of the 2016 edition. But, Virat Kohli again proved his ability at the World Cup stages. West Indies won their 2nd T20 World Cup title after defeating England in the finals of the 2016 T20 World Cup.

However, the ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2021 is starting from today onwards. Although, the Super 12 will be played on and from 24th October 2021. As we are waiting to see another player who performs better than all other players on this list. Just Follow SportzPoint to keep yourself updated about the T20 World Cup 2021.

N.B: The stats are accurate as of 17/10/2021.

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

Every result from India vs Pakistan Asia Cup Clash Haaland and Bonmati won the UEFA Player of the Year India vs Pakistan record in Asia Cup Kevin de Bruyne : Eight years of midfield magic at City Rohit Sharma’s strike rate vs average in ODIs Suryakumar Yadav gears up for Asia Cup 2023 Top 5 : Fastest batters to 5000 ODI runs Most 100s in international Cricket among Current Players KL Rahul will miss the group stage matches of the Asia Cup 2023 Manchester City forward wins PFA men’s Player of the Year award