ICC Under 19 World Cup Finalists since 1988

The ICC Under 19 World Cup Final will be played between India and Australia on 11th February at the Sahara Park Willowmoore Cricket Stadium.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
ICC Under 19 World Cup Finalists since 1988

ICC Under 19 World Cup Image - Getty

ICC Under 19 World Cup is one platform that gives the young and youth to showcase their talent to the world. The tournament has always had great names like Brian LaraVirat Kohli, and Yashasvi Jaiswal to be the latest.

The U19 Cricket World Cup is a 50-over tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was first held in Australia in 1988 named as the Youth World Cup with eight teams. Thereafter, the tournament was staged after 10 years in 1998 with 16 teams and it has been a 16-nation tournament held regularly every two years ever since.

Also Read: U19 Cricket World Cup Winners List (1988 to 2024)

Australia were crowned as the winner of the first-ever ICC Under-19 World Cup by defeating Pakistan in the 1988 Final. They are the only host nation to win the Under-19 Cricket World Cup.

England were the winners of the second edition of the tournament in 1998. They defeated New Zealand by seven wickets in the final match at Johannesburg.

The Indian cricket team is the most successful in the Under-19 World Cup, with five titles to its name. India won their first-ever Under-19 World Cup title in 2000 under the captaincy of Mohammad Kaif. They are also the defending Champions as they defeated England in the Final of 2022 U19 Cricket World Cup in West Indies.

Pakistan first won the title in 2004 and then in the next edition (2006) as well by beating India in the final by 38 runs. Pakistan are the only side to win back-to-back ICC Under 19 World Cup titles. India have the opportunity to also repeat that, as they won the 2022 edition.

South Africa won their first ICC Under-19 World Cup in 2014 by beating Pakistan in the Final while West Indies bagged their maiden title in 2016 by beating India. Bangladesh won the 2020 edition after beating India by three wickets in the final at the Senwes Park, Potchefstroom.

ICC Under 19 World Cup Finalists

  • 1988 - AUS v PAK

  • 1998 - NZ v ENG

  • 2000 - SL v IND

  • 2002 - SA v AUS

  • 2004 - PAK v WI

  • 2006 - PAK v IND

  • 2008 - IND v SA

  • 2010 - AUS v PAK

  • 2012 - AUS v IND

  • 2014 - PAK v SA

  • 2016 - WI v IND

  • 2018 - AUS v IND

  • 2020 - IND v BAN

  • 2022 - IND v ENG

  • 2024 - IND v AUS*

Follow us on Google News.

Icc Under 19 Cricket World Cup Cricket Australia Indian Cricket Team Icc ICC U19 World Cup Cricket