U19 Cricket World Cup Winners List (1988 to 2024)

The Australian Cricket Team won the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 after beating India in the final by 79 runs.

Abishek Goswami
Updated On
New Update
U19 Cricket World Cup Winners List (1988 to 2024)

Australia lift their fourth ICC U19 Cricket World Cup title Image - ICC/Getty

The ICC Men's U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 saw 16 teams playing across four venues in South Africa. This was the 15th edition of the U19 men's event. India clinched the title for the fifth time in 2022 West Indies. Australia win the 2024 edition after beating India in the final by 79 runs. This is Australia's fourth U-19 World Cup title in the history of the competition.

Also Read: ICC Men's U19 Cricket World Cup 2024: Every Squad of the 2024 U19 World Cup

The Under-19 Cricket World Cup is a 50-over tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It was first held in Australia in 1988 named as the Youth World Cup with eight teams. Thereafter, the tournament was staged after 10 years in 1998 with 16 teams and it has been a 16-nation tournament held regularly every two years ever since.

Australia were crowned as the winner of the first-ever ICC Under-19 World Cup in 1988. They are the only host nation to win the Under-19 Cricket World Cup. Since then, they have won the tournament four times. Their most recent title came in the current edition after beating India by 79 runs in South Africa.

The Indian cricket team is the most successful in the Under-19 World Cup, with five titles to its name. India won their first-ever Under-19 World Cup title in 2000 under the captaincy of Mohammad Kaif. They are also the defending Champions as they defeated England in the Final of 2022 U19 Cricket World Cup in West Indies.

A lot of players have made a big name from the U-19 circuit. There are no better examples than Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Joe Root, and Babar Azam who have proved themselves in the modern era for their countries.

Under 19 Cricket World Cup Winners List (1988 to 2024)

Year Winner Runners-up Host
1988 Australia Pakistan Australia
1998 England New Zealand South Africa
2000 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2002 Australia South Africa New Zealand
2004 Pakistan West Indies Bangladesh
2006 Pakistan India Sri Lanka
2008 India South Africa Malaysia
2010 Australia Pakistan New Zealand
2012 India Australia Australia
2014 South Africa Pakistan UAE
2016 West Indies India Bangladesh
2018 India Australia New Zealand
2020 Bangladesh India South Africa
2022 India England West Indies
2024 Australia India South Africa

Most successful teams in ICC U-19 World Cup: By each country

Country No. of Under-19 World Cups Winning Years
India 5 "2000 2008 2012 2018 2022"
Australia 4 "1988 2002 2010 2024"
Pakistan 2 "2004 2006"
Bangladesh 1 2020
South Africa 1 2014
West Indies 1 2016
England 1 1998

Follow us on Google News.

Icc Cricket Cricket World Cup Icc Under 19 Cricket World Cup ICC Men's U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 U19 Cricket World Cup