World Cup 2023 | Which Teams Have Qualified for the ICC Event?

World Cup 2023 will see ten teams featuring it. Eight have already qualified. Let's find out who they are.

Staff Reporter
New Update
World Cup 2023 | Which Teams Have Qualified for the ICC Event? | Sportz Point

The World Cup 2023 will be held in India, which will be a massive event. The tournament will take place in October and November, where ten teams will compete for the coveted trophy. All cricket enthusiasts eagerly await this tournament, just like bettors are waiting for online cricket betting.

Teams Qualified for World Cup 2023

The ODI World Cup is the biggest event in white-ball cricket. The tournament began in 1975, and the upcoming edition is the 13th. Australia won the most titles with five, while West Indies and India won twice. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England are the other World Cup winners.

The 2023 World Cup will begin in October. We look at eight teams who have already sealed their place in the 50-over event.

India - The Hosts

India hosts the World Cup 2023, so the 'Men in Blue' directly qualified for the World Cup. The team won its last World Cup in 2011, played in the Indian subcontinent. It might be the final ODI World Cup for Indian batting stalwarts like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, and the duo would be keen to end a 10-year ICC trophy drought.

England - The Defending Champions

England is the defending champion, thanks to a thrilling World Cup victory at home in 2019. The team is playing a fearless brand of cricket, and it is expected to continue in the 2023 World Cup. Jos Buttler's men will aim to become the third team after West Indies and Australia to win back-to-back ODI World Cup titles.

Australia - Five-time Winners

Australia is the team that has won the cricket World Cup the most number of times. The Kangaroos have won the trophy in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015 editions. It was England who knocked Australia out in the semi-final last edition. Australia will look to lift the trophy for the sixth time with players like David Warner, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Adam Zampa in their ranks.

New Zealand - Consistent Performers

New Zealand reached the finals of the last two editions of the World Cup. Unfortunately, the team finished runner-up on both occasions. In 2019, New Zealand lost the final in the Super Over, and that too on a boundary count rule that no longer exists. The Kiwis will be relying on the likes of Kane Williamson, Tom Latham, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, etc.

Pakistan - The Unpredictable Team

The most unpredictable team in the cricket circuit is the Pakistan team. The 'Men in Green' can beat any strong team on a given day. Also, the Babar Azam-led side could crumble against underdogs. Pakistan last won a cricket World Cup in 1992. It has world-class players like Babar Azam, Mohamad Rizwan, and Shaheen Shah Afridi, who could help the Asian nation end a 31-year-old wait.

South Africa - The Proteas

South Africa is still waiting to get their hands on the World Cup trophy. The team has choked under pressure, mainly during the knockout stages of tournaments. They will rely heavily on players like Aiden Markram, David Miller, and Kagiso Rabada to get hold of the World Cup trophy for the first time.

South Africa has been a team that has always been unlucky with the Duckworth-Lewis Method. Let's look at Duckworth Lewis in IPL and its impact on the game.

Bangladesh - The Tigers

Bangladesh is making rapid progress, especially in white-ball cricket. The team needs to take their game a notch higher to make it into the knockout stages of important tournaments like the World Cup. Bangladesh made it to the quarter-finals of the 2015 world cup in Australia, where the Tigers lost to India. Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, etc., are players to watch out for in the Bangladesh lineup in the 2023 World Cup.

Afghanistan - Up for the Fight

Afghanistan has been a usual presence in the World Cup since its debut in 2015. The team, which came agonizingly close to beating India and Pakistan in the 2019 World Cup, has a pool of talented players like Rashid Khan, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Mujeeb Rahman, Noor Ahmad, etc. One of the fastest-improving cricket nations, Afghanistan can spring a few surprises in India.

Apart from these eight teams, two more will join from the World Cup Qualifiers to be held in Zimbabwe from June 18. Sri Lanka, West Indies, Ireland, Zimbabwe, Scotland, Netherlands, UAE, Nepal, Oman, and USA are the ten teams that will vie for the remaining two spots.

A major cricket tournament is just around the corner, and cricket teams and their fans are buzzing with excitement. While England, India, Australia, New Zealand, and Pakistan are among the strong contenders to win the tournament, teams like Bangladesh and Afghanistan can surprise the biggies and play spoilsport.

Cricket World Cup World Cup Qualifiers