Indian cricket team latest news: Sourav Ganguly replaces Anil Kumble as ICC Technical Committee Chairman

Indian cricket team latest news : BCCI President Sourav Ganguly has been appointed as the Chairman of ICC's Cricket Committee

Arijit Barua
New Update

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly has been appointed as the Chairman of ICC's Cricket Committee, the governing body confirmed on Wednesday (November 17). Ganguly will be replacing his former India teammate Anil Kumble. Meanwhile, Anil Kumble has served a maximum of three-year terms after being appointed in 2012.

Sourav Ganguly the ICC technical committee Chairman  |

Also Read: Ashes 2021: Australia announces their squad for home series

Indian cricket team latest news : ICC Chairman Greg Barclay is happy about the decision :

Indian cricket team latest news | Sourav Ganguly and Anil Kumble |

Image - Sportskeeda

"I am delighted to welcome Sourav to the position of Chair of the ICC Men's Cricket Committee," ICC Chairman Greg Barclay said. "His experience as one of the world's best players. And latterly as an administrator will help us shape our cricketing decisions moving forward. I would also like to thank Anil for his outstanding leadership over the last nine years. Which has included improving the international game through more regular and consistent application of DRS and a robust process for addressing suspect bowling actions."

Indian cricket team latest news: The ICC Board took a number of key decisions on Tuesday. Meanwhile, the most important one is the formation of a Working Group to review the status of cricket in Afghanistan. Ever since the Taliban's takeover, there have been concerns regarding the future of the sport in Afghanistan - especially women's cricket. However, the development recently led to Cricket Australia postponing their historic one-off Test against the Asian side.

Read Also: India vs New Zealand 1st T20I: Full Preview, Lineups, Pitch Report, And Dream11 Team Prediction

What the Board thinks about the decision :

The Board also decided to stick to the existing format of the World Test Championship. Nine teams play over a period of two years with the top two facing off in a final. The number of participating teams in the ODI World Cup increased to 14 again for the 2027 edition. ICC has decided that the top 10 teams in the rankings at a predetermined cutoff date will qualify automatically for the tournament. However, the rest of the slots determines via a qualifier.

Also Read: India vs NZ series: What issues lie ahead of Rohit Sharma as a captain

The Board approved the appointment of Johnny Grave, CEO of Cricket West Indies, to the ICC Women's Cricket Committee. Though going forward, first-class status and List A classification will apply to women's cricket as well, according to the ICC.

Icc Bcci Sourav Ganguly Anil Kumble