Indians to be named in the ICC Hall Of Fame

India's legendary opener Virender Sehwag and former Indian Women Test skipper Diana Edulji are the newest Indian players to be added to the ICC Hall of Fame.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Indians to be named in the ICC Hall Of Fame

Image - AFP

The International Cricket Council releases a list of legendary players inducted into the ICC Hall Of Fame every year. The Hall of Fame list was launched by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in Dubai on 2 January 2009, in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA). To date, there are 9 Indians have been inducted into this prestigious list. Virender Sehwag is the latest inductee Indian in this list.

Also Read: Pakistan cricket team bowling coach Morne Morkel resigns from his post

Since 1932 till date just 9 Indians have been included in this list. Virender Sehwag, the former legendary opener of India, and former Indian Women Test skipper Diana Edulji are the latest Indian players who are included in the list of ICC hall of fame in 2023.


A player is eligible to be inducted into the fame list only after the mandatory period of 5 years after his /her retirement from International cricket.

Indian Cricketers in ICC Hall Of Fame

Bishan Singh Bedi, Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar were the first Indians to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame in 2009, the year in which the recognition was launched.

Kapil Dev is considered one the greatest all-rounders of all time, and the best India has produced. He was the third to be inducted into the list as an Indian player.

Sunil Gavaskar at one time held the record for the most runs scored and most centuries in Test cricket. He was the fourth Indian inductee in this list.

India's all-time leading wicket-taker in Tests Anil Kumble was the next Indian to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame in 2015. Kumble took 619 Test wickets. He also scored a Test ton against England and had 337 scalps in ODIs.

Indian present Head Coach, Rahul Dravid was inducted into the Hall of Fame three years later. A versatile player, he was also a wicket-keeper for India in ODIs for a few years and made 10,889 runs at an average of 39.16 in the 50-over format.

Cricketing great Sachin Tendulkar was then became the 6th Indian to enter the ICC Hall of Fame in 2019. Arguably the best player to have played cricket, Tendulkar made an unprecedented 100 international centuries before retiring.

Vinoo Mankad was the seventh Indian cricketer to be inducted into the Hall of Fame after these seven legends of the game. Mankad, who died in 1978, played 44 Test matches for India from 1946 to 1959.

Complete list of Indians in ICC Hall Of Fame:

  • Bishan Singh Bedi

  • Kapil Dev

  • Sunil Gavaskar

  • Anil Kumble

  • Rahul Dravid

  • Sachin Tendulkar

  • Vinoo Mankad

  • Virender Sehwag

  • Diana Edulji

Follow us on Google News.

Icc Sachin Tendulkar Cricket Kapil Dev Rahul Dravid Sunil Gavaskar Anil Kumble Virender Sehwag Icc Event Winners Since 2000