India's performance in every ICC tournament

Indian Men's Cricket team have won a total of 4 ICC trophies so far in their history. Here is how team India has performed in every ICC tournament till now.

Abishek Goswami
Updated On
New Update
India's performance in every ICC tournament -

India's performance in the ICC events is not that good in recent years. As we know India lost the last 7 ICC events including 2 fifty overs World Cups, one Champions Trophy, and 2 T20 World Cups. India have collected 4 ICC trophies so far including two 50 overs, one Champions Trophy, and one T20 World Cup in 2007. Interestingly, Mahendra Singh Dhoni has won 3 ICC events as a captain in those 4 ICC trophies that India won so far. In this article, SportzPoint will give you India's performances in each of the ICC tournaments so far.

ICC Cricket World Cup (1975 - 2019) :

Team India in 2011 World Cup | India's performance in ICC tournament |

The International Cricket Council (ICC) started the ODI World Cup back in the year 1975. From then, ICC organized the tournament a total of 12 times. Australia is the most successful in the format as they won 5 titles so far. India won their first World Cup under Kapil Dev back in 1983 and next under Mahendra Singh Dhoni in 2011. With 2 titles India are the second most successful team alongside West Indies in the 50 overs format after Australia. 

Indian Men's Cricket team lost two ODI World Cup finals, one under Sourav Ganguly in 2003 and one under Rohit Sharma in 2023. However, let's take a look at India's performance in the 12 editions of the ICC Cricket World Cup.

Read Also: Most ICC Trophy wins by any team

Year Result
1975 6th
1979 7th
1983 Champions
1987 Semi-Final
1992 7th
1996 Semi-Final
1999 6th
2003 Runner's up
2007 9th
2011 Champions
2015 Semi-Final
2019 Semi-Final
2023 Final
India's performances in the 50 overs World Cup

ICC Champions Trophy (1998 - 2017) :

India the Champions of 2013 | India's performance in ICC tournament |

Image - CricTracker

Read Also: Five young cricketers who can be a legend in ten years

ICC started a new tournament of the 50 overs format in 1998 called the Champions Trophy. Meanwhile, it is also known as a "Mini World Cup". Till 2006 the Champion's Trophy was held every two years. After that, it continues with a gap of 4 years from 2009.

In 2003, India reached the Finals of the tournament along with Sri Lanka as the match washed out and ICC declared joint winners. However, India finally won the ICC Champions Trophy under MS Dhoni in 2013 after defeating England by 5 runs. Let's take a look at India's performance in the tournament so far.

Year Result
1998 Semi-Final
2000 Runner's up
2002 Co-Champions with Sri Lanka
2004 Group Stage
2006 Group Stage
2009 Semi-Final
2013 Champions
2017 Runner's up
India's performances in the Champions Trophy

ICC T20 World Cup (2007 - 2022) :

India's performance in ICC tournament: The Champions of 2007 India | Sportz Point

Also Read: Quickest 100 T20 International Wickets

International Cricket Council introduced a new format tournament in 2007 as T20 Cricket started to grow globally. ICC started to organize the T20 World Cup in the year 2007. India defeated their arch-rival Pakistan in the final that year and won the inauguration T20 World Cup under MS Dhoni. Since then, the Indian cricket team have yet to win any T20 World Cup.

Year Results
2007 Champions
2009 Super 8
2010 Super 8
2012 Super 8
2014 Runner's up
2016 Semi-Final
2021 Super 12
2022 Semi-Final
India's performances in the T20 World Cup

Read Also: India's performance in every T20 World Cup

ICC World Test Championship (2019-2023) :

India's performance in ICC tournaments -

ICC World Test Championship started in the year 2019 as New Zealand won the inauguration WTC after defeating India in the ICC World Test Championship 2021 Final.

India once again qualified for the Test Championship in the 2023 Final and this time, it was Australia who challenged them. India bottled their chance to win an ICC trophy after waiting for a decade and lost the match by a huge margin of 209 runs.

WTC Championship Results
2019-21 Runners-up
2021-23 Runners-up


T20 Cricket World Cup Icc T20 World Cup Icc Tournament Indian Cricket Team Bcci Icc Kapil Dev Icc World Test Championship 2021 T20 World Cup Sourav Ganguly Ms Dhoni