India’s performance in every T20 World Cup

It has been a roller-coaster ride for India in the T20 World Cup as India is yet to find their second T20 World Cup title after being Champions in the inaugural edition.
India’s performance in every T20 World Cup

Team India's journey in the ICC T20 World Cup has been no less than a roller-coaster ride. The World Cup has been played a total of eight times so far, and the Indian team has been led by MS Dhoni for the first 6 times, Virat Kohli led India in 2021 while Rohit led in the 2022 edition. India has played a total of 44 matches in the T20 WC, where it has won 27 and lost 15 matches. In this article, Sportzpoint will give you the details of India's performance in each edition.

ICC T20 World Cup 2007 | Champions

Image – First Post

After a horror exit in ODI World Cup, a new captain and a fresh-looking team took the field in this tournament. MS Dhoni not only proved himself to be a great leader but also created history by winning the inaugural T20 World Cup.

In the Super 8 League matches, India lost to New Zealand but defeated England and South Africa in the following matches to enter the WC semi-final. India defeated a strong Australia in the semi-finals and went on to clinch the World Cup 2007 title by defeating Pakistan in the Finals.

ICC T20 World Cup 2009 | Super 8

Image – CricPost

The second edition of the World Cup was held in England. The winner of the previous edition – India, crashed out of the tournament after losing three matches in a row against West Indies, England, and South Africa. Team India's only win in the tournament was against Ireland. Interestingly, WC 2007's runner-ups Pakistan went one step further to win the trophy after beating Sri Lanka in the Final.

ICC T20 World Cup 2010 | Super 8

Image – ESPN Cricinfo

The third edition of the T20 WC was hosted by the West Indies. India had a good start in the tournament as it defeated Afghanistan and South Africa in its first two matches. However, India once again got knockout out after losing against Australia, West Indies, and Sri Lanka. England went on to win the World Cup.

ICC T20 World Cup 2012 | Super 8

Image – Zee News

It was a near-miss for India in the fourth edition of the T20 WC held in Sri Lanka. India lost just one match and defeated the likes of Afghanistan, England, and South Africa. However, India couldn't qualify for the next round due to a poor net run rate. West Indies, under the leadership of Darren Sammy, went on to win its maiden World Cup trophy. 

ICC T20 World Cup 2014 | Runners-up

Image – CricNerds

India, in this edition, looked like the best team to win the trophy as they cruised their way into the WC Final without losing any match. However, it all turned upside down as Sri Lanka defeated India to lift the trophy in the final. Virat Kohli was named Player of the tournament. 

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 | Semi-Finalists

Image – Cricket Country

The sixth edition of the T20 WC was held in India. The hosts – India – suffered a crushing defeat at the hands of New Zealand in the opening game but then won every game to make their place in the semi-finals. It was against the mighty West Indies. India, despite the best efforts from the eventual player of the tournament Virat Kohli, lost the match. It also turned out to be MS Dhoni's last appearance in T20 WC's. 

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 | Super 12

The seventh edition of the T20 World Cup 2021 was hosted in the UAE. Although, it was scheduled to happen in India COVID-19 scare deflects it as it's happening in UAE. Meanwhile, India ended their journey in the Super 12 as they loses their first two games against Pakistan and New Zealand respectively. However, despite winning the rest of the matches India knocked out of the Semis race.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 | Semi-Finalists

Image – ICC

Just like the 2016 edition, India's title journey in the 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup ended in the Semis witha defeat in the hands of England. India performed well throughout the Super 12 group stage – winning five of their six games. Only defeat came against the Proteas while second defeat knocked out India from the tournament.

Virat Kohli was the highest run-scorer not just for India but also in the overall series. Meanwhile, in bowling Arshdeep Singh was the standout performer from India.

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.