INDvsAFG T20I Series: Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are back in T20I squad

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma Return as India Gears Up for T20I Clash Against Afghanistan.

Staff Reporter
New Update
INDvsAFG T20I Series: Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are back in T20I squad

Both Rohit and Kohli, who last played a T20I game in T20 World Cup 2022, are called back for the INDvsAFG T20I series. Image | ICC

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced Indian men's cricket team squad for the upcoming India vs Afghanistan T20I series on Sunday. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are back in the T20I squad for team India. Rohit will lead the side in the INDvsAFG T20I series.

Hardik Pandya, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Suryakumar Yadav will miss the series due to injuries. Jasprit Bumrah will be the vice-captain of the team.

Both Rohit and Kohli last played T20I back in the T20 World Cup in November 2022. So, having them back in the squad surely means that they will be available in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 as well.

Also Read: Indian Cricket schedule in 2024

Hardik, who had injured his ankle during the ICC World Cup 2023, missed out on the series. Just like Hardik, Suryakumar, who was captain in the T20I series vs South Africa, misses out due to an ankle injury. Both the players will be available for IPL 2024.

Shubman Gill and Sanju Samson are back in the T20I squad as well.

India will play three T20Is against Afghanistan on January 11, 14 and 17.

India's full squad for the INDvsAFG T20I series

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Follow us on Google News.

Indian Cricket Team Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli Shubman Gill Jasprit Bumrah Sanju Samson IND vs AFG