IPL 2023: Kagiso Rabada becomes the fastest bowler to take 100 wickets in IPL history

Kagiso Rabada surpassed Mumbai Indians legend, Lasith Malinga to become the fastest bowler to take 100 wickets in IPL history.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
IPL 2023: Kagiso Rabada | Sportz Point

Kagiso Rabada created history in the Punjab Kings' match against Gujarat Titans on Thursday. In the IPL 2023 game played at PBKS's home ground, IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali, Rabada dismissed Wriddhiman Saha for 30 runs to take his 100th IPL wicket. He left behind Lasith Malinga to become the fastest to take 100 wickets in the tournament and registered the record in just 64 innings.

Read Also: IPL 2023 Stats

IPL 2023: Kagiso Rabada took his 100th IPL Wicket | Sportz Point

Kagiso Rabada took his 100th IPL Wicket

Image -

Kagiso Rabada achieved the feat in his 64th IPL match with the wicket of Gujarat Titans (GT) wicketkeeper-batter Wriddhiman Saha in the fifth over. Rabada also became the first South African bowler to take 100 or more wickets in IPL. He made his IPL debut in 2017. He took 76 wickets from 50 games at an average of 20.52 and an economy rate of 8.21 runs per over. The Proteas pacer was picked for Rs 9.25 crore by PBKS in IPL 2022 mega auction after an intense bidding war with GT.

Rabada replaced Australian pacer Nathan Ellis in the side. Ellis remained wicketless in the previous game against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the three overs he bowled. However, he delivered an exceptional performance of 4/30 against Rajasthan Royals last week.

Fastest 100 IPL wickets:

  • Kagiso Rabada - 64 innings
  • Lasith Malinga - 70 innings
  • Harshal Patel - 79 innings
  • Buveneshwar Kumar - 81 innings
  • Rashid Khan - 83 innings
  • Amit Mishra - 83 innings
  • Ashish Nehra - 83 innings
  • Yuzvendra Chahal - 84 innings
Bcci Indian Cricket Team Lasith Malinga T20I Cricket Hardik Pandya Kagiso Rabada Shikhar Dhawan Ipl Indian Premier League Ipl 2023 Punjab Kings Wriddhiman Saha Gujarat Titans Mumbai Indians