IPL 2023: Kedar Jadhav Joined RCB as a Replacement of David Willey

Kedar Jadhav joined Royal Challengers Bangalore for INR 1 crore as a replacement for David Willey for the remaining games of IPL 2023

Abishek Goswami
New Update
IPL 2023 | IPL 2023: Kedar Jadhav Joined RCB as a Replacement of David Willey | Sportz Point

Royal Challengers Bangalore are set to face Lucknow Super Giants in the 43rd match of IPL 2023 on Monday. Before the game, a big update about the RCB squad has come. England star all-rounder David Willey has been replaced by Kedar Jadhav for the remainder of the season. RCB roped Jadhav in for INR 1 crore.

Read Also: IPL 2023 Stats

IPL 2023: Kedar Jadhav in place of David Willey

Kedar Jadhav made his IPL debut with Delhi Daredevils in 2010. He has played 93 IPL games and scored 1196 runs so far. Jadhav played for RCB in 17 matches during the 2016-17 season and was later bought by Chennai Super Kings. Jadhav represented Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2021 edition of the tournament. He remained unsold in the auctions for the next two seasons.

On the other side, Willey played four matches for RCB this season and scalped three wickets. The reason for Willey missing the remaining matches is due to a fractured toe and adductor strain. Willey was picked by RCB in the 2022 mega auction for Rs 2 crore. The weird thing is, Willey replaced Jadhav at Chennai Super Kings in the 2018 season of the IPL. Jadhav was ruled out due to an injury at the time. It's a full circle now.

Jadhav has also played 73 One Day Internationals (ODIs) and 73 T20Is for Team India. The Indian batter last played an IPL match against Punjab Kings (PBKS) at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in 2021.

RCB are placed sixth on the IPL 2023 points table. Under the leadership of veteran South African batter Du Plessis, the Bangalore-based franchise has registered four wins and four defeats in the IPL 2023. Rahul's LSG side pulled off a stunning victory on the final ball of the high-scoring contest when both teams last faced each other in the IPL 2023 at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Indian Cricket Team Bcci Ipl 2023 Indian Premier League Chennai Super Kings Ipl Virat Kohli