Most Runs in the WPL 2024: Ellyse Perry wins the Orange Cap

Ellyse Perry won the Orange Cap in the WPL 2024 season as she finished the competition, scoring the most runs this season.

Abishek Goswami
Updated On
New Update
Most Runs in the WPL 2024: Ellyse Perry wins the Orange Cap

Ellyse Perry scored the most runs in the WPL 2024 Image - BCCI

The second season of the Women's Premier League started on February 22. Last season's finalists Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals played the curtain-raiser at Bangalore while Royal Challengers Bangalore faced Delhi Capitals in the WPL 2024 final and lifted their maiden title. The inaugural edition of WPL in 2023 was won by Mumbai who defeated Delhi.

Meg Lanning scored the most runs in the first season and won the Orange Cap. Ellyse Perry won the Orange Cap this season, having scored 347 runs. So, it's time we look at the players with the most runs of the WPL 2024 season.

Also Read: Exclusive | Taunts to Claps: Priyanka Bala's journey from rural village of Nadia to WPL

In the previous edition, several cricketers played some brilliant innings and delivered match-winning performances. Natalie Sciver-Brunt and Tahlia McGrath finished second and third respectively behind Meg Lanning while Harmanpreet Kaur, with 281 runs in 10 matches finished fourth in the top run-scorer list.

Most Runs in the WPL 2024

The player who scores the most runs in a single season of the IPL or WPL wins the Orange Cap award. This award has been given to the highest run-scorers since the first season of the IPL (2008).

The first edition of the Women's Premier League (2023) also decided to present the Orange Cap as an award in the 22-match tournament, and the Delhi Capitals' skipper Meg Lanning became the first-ever WPL Orange Cap winner.

The Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry finished as the highest runscorer of this season with 347 runs in 9 matches at an average of 69.40. Her highest individual score of 66 came in the eliminator match against Mumbai which helped RCB put up a fighting total on the scoreboard. She also played an unbeaten inning of 35 runs in the final to help her side win their maiden WPL title.

Ellyse Perry scored the most runs and won the WPL 2024 Orange Cap  Image - X
Ellyse Perry scored the most runs and won the WPL 2024 Orange Cap Image - X

Meg Lanning had an inconsistent start this season but somehow picked up the pace and finished in the second position on this list. She scored 331 runs in 9 appearances with a good average of 36.77.

Delhi Capitals and Indian opener Shafali Verma finished third on the list, scoring 309 runs in 9 matches at an average of 38.62. She struck 44 runs in the final against RCB, helping her side provide a brilliant start.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Smriti Mandhana, who was the holder of the Orange Cap during the starting period of this season, finished the season on the fourth position with 300 runs in 10 matches.

UP Warriorz had a terrible season but Deepti Sharma delivered with 295 runs in 8 matches with an unthinkable average of 98.33. At the same time, Gujarat Skipper Beth Mooney ended up in the sixth position, scoring 285 runs in 8 matches.

Also Read: Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore WPL 2024 Final Highlights | A complete all-round performance from RCB as they win their maiden title beating DC by 8 wickets

Top Ten Highest Run Scorers of the WPL 2024

No Player Team R Mat Avg H.S SR 4s 6s 100s 50s
1 Ellyse Perry BAN-W 347 9 69.4 66 125.72 41 7 -- 2
2 Meg Lanning DEL-W 331 9 36.78 60 123.05 47 4 -- 4
3 Shafali Verma DEL-W 309 9 38.63 71 156.85 27 20 -- 3
4 Smriti Mandhana BAN-W 300 10 30 80 133.93 40 10 -- 2
5 Deepti Sharma UP-W 295 8 98.33 88 136.57 34 8 -- 3
6 Beth Mooney GUJ-W 285 8 47.5 85 141.09 38 5 -- 3
7 Harmanpreet Kaur MI-W 268 7 53.6 95 141.05 30 8 -- 2
8 Richa Ghosh BAN-W 257 10 42.83 62 141.99 31 10 -- 2
9 Jemimah Rodrigues DEL-W 235 9 39.17 69 153.59 26 8 -- 2
10 Alice Capsey DEL-W 230 9 28.75 75 125.68 29 6 -- 1

Follow us on Google News.

Women In Sports Womens Cricket Smriti Mandhana Cricket Mumbai Indians Meg Lanning Royal Challengers Bangalore Delhi Capitals Ellyse Perry Womens Premier League Wpl Wpl 2024