Most T20I wins in a calendar year

Indian cricket team overtook Pakistan to become the team with the Most T20I wins in a calendar year, having 21 wins in 2022 so far.

Arijit Barua
New Update

Team India broke Pakistan's record for the most T20I wins in a calendar year when it beat Australia by six wickets to seal the three-match series 2-1 in Hyderabad on Sunday. The win marked India's 21st T20I win in 2022 from 29 matches. It put Rohit Sharma's side ahead of Pakistan's record of 20 wins in 2021.

Most T20I wins in a calendar year | Sportz Point

India surpasses Pakistan in the list

Image - Cricket Pakistan

Also Read: Highest Partnership in a chase in T20I Cricket: Babar Azam and Rizwan break Guptil and Williamson's record

India has had four captains in T20s this year with Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, and Rishabh Pant leading the side. The win marked Rohit's 33rd win as India's T20I captain, putting him ahead of Kohli. MS Dhoni leads the list among Indians with 41 wins.

On Friday, Rohit led India's 91-run chase against Australia with an unbeaten 46 to level the three-match series 1-1. Since assuming full-time captaincy after the T20 World Cup 2021, Rohit has led India to nine successive T20I series wins.

Now, the Men in Blue can extend the record by a huge margin with the amount of T20 matches they will be playing for the rest of the year.

Earlier this year, Rohit Sharma-led India had achieved another milestone, going level with Afghanistan and Romania for most consecutive T20 wins with 12 wins on the trot. That run started in last year's T20 World Cup, but their run was ended by South Africa in June.

Read Also: Fastest to 30 T20I Wins as Captain

Most T20I wins in a calendar year:

Team Wins Year
India 21* 2022
Pakistan 20 2021
Pakistan 17 2018
Uganda 16 2021
India 15 2016
Last Updated on 25/09/2022
Most T20I wins in a calendar year | Sportz Point

The Pakistan cricket team registered 20 victories in 2021, the previous record for most T20I wins in a calendar year. Under the captaincy of Babar Azam, the Men in Green registered bilateral series wins against South Africa (home and away), West Indies (home and away), and Bangladesh (away).

Also Read: Babar Azam vs Mohammad Rizwan: Who is better in T20 cricket

Australia's 2010 T20I team became the first to register 10 or more wins in a calendar year. Six of those victories came in the 2010 T20 World Cup, where they finished as runners-up to England.

Indian Cricket Team T20I Cricket Pakistan Cricket Team Babar Azam Rohit Sharma Most Wins In T20I