Prize money of the Top 5 T20 leagues in the world

Indian Premier League or the IPL has the highest prize money among the Top 5 T20 cricket leagues in the world. Here is the list of prize money of the top 5 T20 leagues in the world.

Shreya Ghosh
New Update
Prize money of the Top 5 T20 league in the world -

With the rise of cricket's popularity, new leagues, rules, and methods have been introduced in cricket. Different kinds of leagues get introduced now and then, mostly in T20 matches. The purposes of these leagues are to popularize the sport and entertain a large base of audience. These leagues mostly occur at the domestic level in most of the cricket-playing countries.

The England and Wales Association introduced the first-ever T20 domestic league, the Twenty20 Cup in 2003. Nowadays it is called T20 Blast and also Vitality Blast due to sponsorship reasons. The prize money is different for all the leagues and this is a list of prize money of the top 5 T20 leagues in the world.

Indian Premier League | 20 cr INR

Prize money of the Top 5 T20 league in the world -

Indian Premier League or IPL has the most enormous prize money for the title winners. BCCI has allotted a huge 20 crore rupees for the winners. In 2007, the Board of Control for Cricket in India, BCCI established IPL. The popularity of IPL is unparallel to the other cricket leagues.

IPL eventuates between 10 teams from 10 different Indian cities. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are the most successful teams in IPL.

Read also: Teams with most wins in IPL history

Bangladesh Premier League | 6.19 cr INR

Bangladesh Premier League has the second highest prize money in the world -

Bangladesh Premier League comes second on this list of prize money of the Top 5 T20 leagues in the world with 6.19 crore rupees. BPL is a professional Twenty20 cricket league taking place in Bangladesh comprising 7 teams. Firstly, It is one of the 3 professional cricket leagues hosted in Bangladesh. Secondly, it is the 16th most-attended premier league in the world. 

The Bangladesh Cricket Board formed the Bangladesh Premier League in 2011 after the suspension of the National Cricket League T20.

The league mainly starts in November every year and however, each franchise faces each other twice in the matches. Rajshahi Royals is the defending champion of this league.

Pakistan Super League | 4.13 cr INR approx

Prize money of the Top 5 T20 league in the world -

Pakistan Super League, PSL is a professional Twenty20 league that eventuates between 6 teams from 6 cities in Pakistan. The Pakistan Cricket Board founded this league in 2015. The first-ever PSL match took place in 2016. PSL is the 2nd league on this list with a prize money of 4.13 crore rupees. 

Big Bash League | 3.27 cr INR

Prize money of the Top 5 T20 league in the world - Big Bash League -

The Big Bash League has the fourth-highest prize money among every T20 league worldwide. With prize money of 3.27 crore, Cricket Australia formed BBL in 2011. BBL is an Australian professional T20 league that occurs every year in Australia during the summer.

In December, January and February, 8 city-based franchises face each other in this league. Perth Scorchers are the most successful teams in this league.

Read also: "Jharkhand Premier League turned around my career": Indrani Roy on her maiden India call

T20 Blast | 1.80 cr INR

T20 Blast has 1.80 cr INR as prize money -

T20 Blast is a professional 20-20 league mainly for the English and Welsh first-class countries. It is the first-ever T20 league and England and Wales Cricket Board introduced it in 2003. Previously it was known as the Twenty20 Cup from 2003 to 2009, then from 2010 to 2014, it was called the Friends Provident t20 and Friends Live t20. Later it was known as the NatWest T20 blast from 2014 to 2017.

For commercial sponsorship reasons, the T20 Blast has been known as Vitality Blast since 2018. This league has 1.80 crore rupees as their prize money.

T20 Blast Indian Premier League Bangladesh Premier League