Ranji Trophy winners since 1934-35 season

Here are the Ranji Trophy Winners list from the inaugural season to this date. Mumbai are the most successful side of this tournament.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Ranji Trophy winners since 1934-35 season

The last time Mumbai were the Ranji Trophy winners was the 2015-16 season Image - X

Ranji Trophy was founded as the 'Cricket Championship of India' at a meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India in July 1934. The first Ranji Trophy fixtures took place in the 1934–35 season. Mumbai are the most successful state in Ranji's history, winning 41 titles, including 15 consecutive trophies between 1958 and 1973. Mumbai are pushing for their 42nd title as they are playing against Vidarbha in the final of the ongoing season. So, it's time we look at the Ranji Trophy winners list since the inaugural season.

Also Read: Most Successful Teams in the Ranji Trophy History

Mumbai are the most successful first-class team in Indian domestic cricket across different competitions. They have won the Ranji Trophy title a total of 41 times and also won the inaugural season of this prestigious tournament. Mumbai won seven out of the first 20 seasons and then between the 1950s and 1970s, they won 20 out of 22 titles in the Ranji Trophy. Mumbai's latest title came in the 2015-16 season.

After Mumbai, Karnataka have won the most Ranji Trophies (8) followed by Delhi (7), Baroda (5), and Madhya Pradesh (5). Karnataka have been part of the tournament since the inaugural season. They had to wait until the 1973–74 edition to lift their maiden title. Their latest win came in the 2014–15 edition.

Delhi won their maiden Ranji title in 1978–79 and their most recent win came in the 2007–08 edition while Baroda made their first-class debut in 1937 and won their maiden title in 1942–43. Madhya Pradesh have also won five titles after their debut in the 1941 season. They won their first Ranji title in 1945–46, defeating Baroda in the finals

Saurashtra are the reigning Ranji Trophy winners, having defeated Bengal by nine wickets in the 2022-23 final to claim their second title in the history of the competition. Runners-up Bengal also have two Ranji titles in their trophy cabinet.

Also Read: Last 10 winners of the Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy winners since 1934-35 season

Season Champion Runner-up
1934-35 Bombay Northern India
1935-36 Bombay Madras
1936-37 Nawanagar Bengal
1937-38 Hyderabad Nawanagar
1938-39 Bengal Southern Punjab
1939-40 Maharashtra United Provinces
1940-41 Maharashtra Madras
1941-42 Bombay Mysore
1942-43 Baroda Hyderabad
1943-44 Western India Bengal
1944-45 Bombay Holkar
1945-46 Holkar Baroda
1946-47 Baroda Holkar
1947-48 Holkar Bombay
1948-49 Bombay Baroda
1949-50 Baroda Holkar
1950-51 Holkar Gujarat
1951-52 Bombay Holkar
1952-53 Holkar Bengal
1953-54 Bombay Holkar
1954-55 Madras Holkar
1955-56 Bombay Bengal
1956-57 Bombay Services
1957-58 Baroda Services
1958-59 Bombay Bengal
1959-60 Bombay Mysore
1960-61 Bombay Rajasthan
1961-62 Bombay Rajasthan
1962-63 Bombay Rajasthan
1963-64 Bombay Rajasthan
1964-65 Bombay Hyderabad
1965-66 Bombay Rajasthan
1966-67 Bombay Rajasthan
1967-68 Bombay Madras
1968-69 Bombay Bengal
1969-70 Bombay Rajasthan
1970-71 Bombay Maharashtra
1971-72 Bombay Bengal
1972-73 Bombay Tamil Nadu
1973-74 Karnataka Rajasthan
1974-75 Bombay Karnataka
1975-76 Bombay Bihar
1976-77 Bombay Delhi
1977-78 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1978-79 Delhi Karnataka
1979-80 Delhi Bombay
1980-81 Bombay Delhi
1981-82 Delhi Karnataka
1982-83 Karnataka Bombay
1983-84 Bombay Delhi
1984-85 Bombay Delhi
1985-86 Delhi Haryana
1986-87 Hyderabad Delhi
1987-88 Tamil Nadu Railways
1988-89 Delhi Bengal
1989-90 Bengal Delhi
1990-91 Haryana Bombay
1991-92 Delhi Tamil Nadu
1992-93 Punjab Maharashtra
1993-94 Bombay Bengal
1994-95 Bombay Punjab
1995-96 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
1996-97 Mumbai Delhi
1997-98 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1998-99 Karnataka Madhya Pradesh
1999-00 Mumbai Hyderabad
2000-01 Baroda Railways
2001-02 Railways Baroda
2002-03 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2003-04 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2004-05 Railways Punjab
2005-06 Uttar Pradesh Bengal
2006-07 Mumbai Bengal
2007-08 Delhi Uttar Pradesh
2008-09 Mumbai Uttar Pradesh
2009-10 Mumbai Karnataka
2010-11 Rajasthan Baroda
2011-12 Rajasthan Tamil Nadu
2012-13 Mumbai Saurashtra
2013-14 Karnataka Maharashtra
2014-15 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
2015-16 Mumbai Saurashtra
2016-17 Gujarat Mumbai
2017-18 Vidarbha Delhi
2018-19 Vidarbha Saurashtra
2019-20 Saurashtra Bengal
2020-21 Not held due to Covid-19
2021-22 Madhya Pradesh Mumbai
2022-23 Saurashtra Bengal

Follow us on Google News.

Cricket Ranji Trophy Mumbai Ranji Trophy 2024