SA vs SL: Aiden Markram scores the fastest century in the ICC Men's ODI World Cup

Aiden Markram completed his century in just 49 deliveries against Sri Lanka, getting past Kevin O'Brien's 50-ball century in 2011.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
SA vs SL: Aiden Markram scores the fastest century in the ICC Men's ODI World Cup

Image - ICC via Getty

South Africa batter Aiden Markram scored the fastest ODI World Cup hundred during a match against Sri Lanka at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Saturday. After coming at number five, Markram recorded a blistering 49-ball hundred, getting past Ireland batter Kevin O'Brien's 50-ball century in the 2011 edition.

Also Read: "He's not ruled out yet," captain Rohit Sharma gives an update on Shubman Gill

South Africa got off to a tremendous start with opener Quinton de Kock and number three Rassie van der Dussen also smashing centuries.

South Africa equalled its own record of having the most hundreds in a single team inning (3), having achieved the feat twice in 2015. England is the only other team to record three centuries in a single inning.

The Proteas piled up a huge total of 428 runs after losing 5 wickets which is also the highest ever total in the history of the ICC Men's ODI World Cup.

Fastest Centuries in ODI World Cup:

Aiden Markram off 49 balls - South Africa vs Sri Lanka - Delhi, 2023 (Final Score: 108)

Kevin O'Brian off 50 balls - Ireland vs England - Bangalore, 2011 (Final Score: 113)

Glenn Maxwell off 51 balls - Australia vs Sri Lanka - Sydney, 2015 (Final Score: 102)

AB de Villiers off 52 balls - South Africa vs West Indies - Sydney, 2015 (Final Score: 162*)

Eoin Morgan off 57 balls - England vs Afghanistan - Manchester, 2019 (Final Score: 148*)

Mathew Hayden off 66 balls - Australia vs South Africa - Basseterre, 2007 (Final Score: 101)

John Davison off 67 balls - Canada vs West Indies - Centurion, 2003 (Final Score: 111)

Paul Stirling off 70 balls - Ireland vs Netherlands - Kolkata, 2011 (Final Score: 101)

Kumar Sangakkara off 70 balls - Sri Lanka vs England - Wellington, 2015 (Final Score: 117*)

Adam Gilchrist off 72 balls - Australia vs Sri Lanka - Bridgetown, 2007 (Final Score: 149)

Kumar Sangakkara off 73 balls - Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh - Melbourne, 2015 (Final Score: 105*)

Shaiman Anwar off 79 balls - UAE vs Ireland - Brisbane, 2015 (Final Score: 106)

Brendan Taylor off 79 balls - Zimbabwe vs Ireland - Hobart, 2015 (Final Score: 121)

Follow us on Google News.

Icc Icc Tournament Icc Cricket World Cup 2023 Cricket South Africa Sri Lanka Cricket Aiden Markram Icc Tournamnt Winners ODI World Cup 2023