T20 World Cup 2021: Man of the series, highest wicket-taker, and highest run-getter

It's finally the end of the T20 World Cup 2021 with Australia winning their maiden T20 World Cup title after defeating New Zealand in the finals

Arijit Barua
New Update

The caravan of the ICC T20 World Cup finally came to an end, and Australia won the prestigious title. This is the first-ever T20 World Cup title for the Aussies as skipper Finch lifted the trophy last night. However, ICC doesn't only award the winning team in the World Cup, but also there are a lot of individual awards up for grabs.

Now, let's have a look at all the award winners in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 edition.

T20 World Cup 2021 Awards List:

Highest run-scorer | Babar Azam (303 runs)

The highest run-scorer of the ICC T20 World Cup is Pakistan's Babar Azam with 303 runs in 6 matches at an average of 60.60.

Highest run-scorer of T20 World Cup 2021 | Babar Azam |

Image -Hindustan Times

Also Read: Fastest 2500 T20I runs

Both Pakistan's openers dominated the run-scoring charts on a consistent basis. Babar scored 303 runs at an average of 60.60, whereas Rizwan scored 281 runs at 70.25. Jos Buttler remained the only centurion of the tournament, and he scored 269 runs at 89.66.

However, the late spark by David Warner in the tournament allowed him to enter the race, and courtesy of yet another half-century on the eve of the Final, he finished at the 2nd spot with 289 runs under his belt, averaging 48.16.

Any Indian player could not even enter the race and that was a shocking thing regarding the superstars they had.

Highest wicket-taker | Wanindu Hasaranga (16 Wickets)

The highest wicket-taker of the ICC T20 World Cup is Wanindu Hasaranga with 16 wickets at a splendid average of 9.75.

Highest wicket-taker in T20 World Cup 2021  Wanindu Hasaranga |

Image - Sky Sports

Read Also: Rohit Sharma records as T20 captain

Sri Lanka's spinner Wanindu Hasaranga never came down in the wicket-taking charts. He scalped 16 wickets at an economy of 5.20, and he was brilliant in the tournament. Adam Zampa always remained in the hunt, and his bowling helped Australia to pull breaks in the middle overs. He in fact ended up as Australia's best bowler in the T20 World Cup with 13 wickets, which also included the wicket of New Zealand's in-form batter, Martin Guptill, in the Finals. He finished in the 2nd spot, behind Hasaranga.

Shakib could have added more to his 11 wickets tally, but he missed a couple of games due to injury. For New Zealand, Trent Boult's left-arm pace remained effective throughout the tournament.

Man of the Tournament of T20 World Cup | David Warner (289 runs)

Man of the Tournament is Australia's David Warner for amassing a total of 289 runs in the tournament at an average of 48.16, which included a tournament-winning knock of 53 off 38 deliveries against New Zealand. He ended up as the second-highest run-scorer of the tournament behind Pakistan's Babar Azam.

David Warner - Player of the tournament |

Image - NDTV Sports

Also Read: ICC Hall of fame: Shaun Pollock, Mahela Jayawardene, and Janette Britti get inducted

This is the most prestigious individual award of the tournament. Babar Azam's consistency was great in the tournament, whereas David Warner's individual brilliance for Australia was also special. The all-around performance of Wanindu Hasaranga also gained him acknowledgment from around the world.

T20 Cricket World Cup Aaron Finch Cricket Australia Icc T20 World Cup Icc T20 World Cup 2021 Babar Azam David Warner T20 World Cup Wanindu Hasaranga