Ballon D'or 2023 : Messi, Haaland, Mbappe leads the shortlist | Ronaldo miss out on the nomination

The Ballon d'Or 2023 nominations are out and there's no Cristiano Ronaldo this time around for the first time since 2003.

Suvam Roy Chowdhury
New Update

The 30 player shortlist has been announced by the France Football for the Official Ballon d'Or 2023. The Ballon D'Or is regarded as the most valuable award for a footballer and it's the dream of every single football player to get their hands on the trophy.

Ballon d'Or 2023

The current holder of the award is French player Karim Benzema. He won the Ballon d'Or because of his record breaking season at Real Madrid, where he won the La Liga and the Champions League.

Lionel Messi has won the award for the most number of times, which is 7 and this year too he has a pretty good chance of winning it. Messi didn't have a good domestic season with PSG but his World Cup triumph with Argentina would be very crucial in winning him this award for a record 8th time.

Another player who has a very good chance of winning the award is Erling Haaland. The player has shattered many records last season and is continuing to do so. Last month he was named UEFA Best Player of the Year and PFA Player' Player of the Year and now he's nominated for the Ballon d'Or. If he wins it, it would be his first ever Ballon d'Or.

Read Also: Erling Haaland: Manchester City forward wins PFA men's Player of the Year award

The player with the most nominations(18), Cristiano Ronaldo has not been nominated this time around. He missed the Ballon d'Or nominations for the first time since 2003 which is quite extraordinary. He also has 5 Ballon d'Ors to his name but unfortunately he won't be able to add to his tally this year.

Erling Haaland | Manchester City | Sportz Point |

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND: In this photo released on June 13, 2022 Manchester City unveil new signing Erling Haaland at Manchester City Football Academy in Manchester, England. (Photo by Lynne Cameron - Manchester City/Manchester City FC via Getty Images)


  • Josko Gvardiol (Manchester City)
  • Andre Onana (Manchester United)
  • Karim Benzema (Al Ittihad)
  • Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Randal Kolo Muani (Paris Saint Germain)
  • Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  • Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
  • Nicola Barella (Inter Milan)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
  • Yassine Bounou (Al Hilal)
  • Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
  • Julian Alvarez (Manchester City)
  • Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona)
  • Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  • Lautaro Martinez (Inter MIlan)
  • Lionel Messi (Inter Miami)
  • Rodri (Barcelona)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint German)
  • Kim Min-Jae (Bayern Munich)
  • Victor Osimhen (Napoli)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Harry Kane (Bayern Munich)


  • Rasmus Hojlund (Manchester United)
  • Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
  • Alejandro Balde (Barcelona)
  • Pedri (Barcelona)
  • Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid)
  • Antonio Silva (Benfica)
  • Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid)
  • Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig)
  • Gavi (Barcelona)
  • Elye Wahi (Lens)


  • Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
  • Mike Maignan (AC Milan)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
  • Yasssine Bounou (Al Hilal)
  • Andre Onana (Manchester United)
  • Dominik Livakovic (Fenerbahce)
  • Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona)
  • Ederson (Manchester City)
  • Brice Samba (Lens)


The Ballon d'Or 2023 ceremony will be held at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on October 30.

This is when the winner of the Ballon d'Or 2023 will be announced.

Cristiano Ronaldo Ballon Dor Lionel Messi Erling Haaland