Last 10 Ballon d’Or Winners List

The most prestigious individual award a footballer can achieve is the Ballon d'Or. Let us look at the list of players who were able to win this award in the past 10 years.
Last 10 Ballon d’Or Winners List

The Ballon d'Or is an annual football award presented by the French news magazine France Football. It is one of the oldest rewards and the whole world regards it as the most prestigious individual award for football players. France Football has been rewarding this award to the best player of the year since 1956. Although between 2010 and 2015, France Football agreed with FIFA, and the award temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player. It was then known as the FIFA Ballon d'Or. However, the partnership ended in 2016 and thereafter FIFA created The Best FIFA Men's Player as its own separate award. Let's go through the last 10 Ballon d'Or winners list.

Ballon d'Or winners in the past 10 years (2009-19)

YearWinning PlayerNationalityClub
2021Lionel MessiArgentinaPSG
2020Not awarded due to Covid
2019Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2018Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2012Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2011Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2010Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2009Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
Winners of the Ballon d'Or in the past 10 years
However, the list is hugely dominated by Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo

#1 Lionel Messi

Only player in history to win six Ballon d'Or
Image – Everything Barca

Arguably, the best player in the world has won the most no.of Ballon d'Ors in history. The Argentine talisman has six awards under his belt which is more than anyone in history. He won four consecutive awards from 2009-2012. In 2012 Leo Messi hit absolute heights scoring 91 goals in a calendar year. 79 with Barca (59 in La Liga, 13 in the Champions League, 5 in the Copa del Rey and 2 in the Spanish Super Cup) plus 12 with the Argentina national side. In 2019 he won his sixth Ballon d'Or, Messi was involved in 63 goals in total with 46 goals and 17 assists. Two years later, although there were lots of drama and speculations, Messi was awarded his 7th Ballon d'Or in 2021.

#2 Cristiano Ronaldo

The only player to win 5 Ballon d'Or after Leo Messi
Image – Getty Images

Along with Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo is the other player who dominated the list in the last decade. They dominated both the nominations and winners list in the past 10 years. The Real Madrid legend has 5 Ballon d'Or under his belt, four of which came with the Spanish giants, and the other with Manchester United. He won consecutive two awards twice in 2013 and 2014, and also in 2016 and 2017. He has also the joint highest nomination (12 times) along with Leo Messi.

#3 Luka Modric

2018 Ballon d'Or winner – Luca Modric
Image – Flickr

The Real Madrid midfielder broke the Messi-Ronaldo streak of winning the Ballon d'Or and provided a new face for the first time in 10 years. He had an excellent season with Real Madrid and also with Croatia which earned him the prestigious individual award. His heroics with the Croatia national team also earned him the World Cup golden ball. He won his first and only Ballon d'Or in 2018 and is the only face other than Ronaldo or Messi in the list of winners in the past 10 years.

Hence the Ballon d'Or Winners list looks like-

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.