India Beat Nepal 4-0 To Enter SAFF U-19 Women's Championships Final

Neha scored a brace as India defeated Nepal by 4-0 in their last league match to qualify for the final of the SAFF U-19 Women's Championships.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
India Beat Nepal 4-0 To Enter SAFF U-19 Women's Championships Final

India are through to the SAFF U-19 Women's Championship Final Image - AIFF

India booked their spot in the SAFF U-19 Women's Championship final, after defeating Nepal 4-0 in at the BSSSMK Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh, on Tuesday, February 6, 2024. India will now face defending champions Bangladesh in the final to be played on Thursday, February 8, 2024.

After a goalless first half, The Indian U19 Women's team delivered a brilliant performance in the second half to score four goals. Neha, Sibani Devi and Sulanjana Raul ripped open the rival defence and the Nepal players could only watch.

Winger Neha scored a second-half brace, while Sulanjana Raul and substitute Cindy Temruatpuii Colney added two late goals to make it a comfortable win for India.

Also Read: India thrash Bhutan by 10-0 in the SAFF U19 Championship opener

The Young Tigresses started on the front foot, most of their attacks coming down the left flank, where Neha operated with her pace. The Nepal goalkeeper Lila Joshi's made lots of mistakes but the Indian forwards couldn't score early.

India finally managed to get the breakthrough in the 54th minute, when Sibani's left-footed cross found Neha at the far post. Nepal only had one big chance but they failed to convert that into a goal and India thrived on every opportunity they got in the second half.

Raul had plenty of opportunities throughout the match, and finally scored the third goal of the game in the 85th minute. Neha sent a cross, which found Sibani at the far post. She sent it back towards unmarked Raul who nodded it in from point-blank range. Substitute Cindy, who had replaced Raul, added a fourth goal in the injury time.

India U-19 Women: Anika Devi (GK), Nitu Linda (C), Sonibia Devi, Sahena TH (Heena Khatun), Thoibisana Chanu, Viksit Bara, Pooja (Arina Devi), Sulanjana Raul (Cindy Remruatpuii Colney 86'), Neha, Sibani Devi, Menaka Devi.

Follow us on Google News.

India Indian Womens Aiff Saff Championship Women In Sports