Lionel Messi wins the Ballon d'Or 2023

Lionel Messi wins the Ballon d'Or for the eighth time in his career at a beautiful ceremony in Paris.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Lionel Messi wins the Ballon d'Or 2023

Lionel Messi with his record 8th Ballon d'Or Image - Getty

Lionel Messi won the Ballon d'Or for the eighth time in his career. Messi inspired Argentina to glory at the World Cup. Haaland came second in the final voting, with Mbappe third and Kevin De Bruyne in fourth place. The Barcelona Legend scored seven times at the FIFA World Cup 2022 and was named the tournament's best player after Argentina beat France on penalties in the final.

Also Read: Top 5 oldest Ballon d'Or winners

Lionel Messi won his first Ballon d'Or in 2009. His old PSG teammate Mbappe finished as the top scorer with eight goals after netting a hat-trick in the final for France.

The Norway striker Haaland scored an incredible 52 goals in 53 games for Manchester City as Pep Guardiola's side won the treble of English Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League.

Messi becomes the first MLS-based player to receive the award. Former Manchester United and Real Madrid Midfleider and Inter Miami co-owner David Beckham handed the incredible prize to Messi in Paris.

During his acceptance speech, Messi wished Argentina countryman Diego Maradona happy birthday.

"My last mention is for Diego ," Messi said. "Today is his birthday. So I would like to remember him from here, surrounded by the best players, coaches and people who love football like he did. Wherever you are, Diego, happy birthday. This goes also to you."

Lionel Messi with his sons  Image - Getty
Lionel Messi with his sons Image - Getty

"I couldn't imagine having the career that I've had. Everything that I've achieved," Messi said after receiving his award. "The fortune I've had playing for the best team in the world, the best team in history. It's nice to win these individual trophies. To win the Copa America and then the World Cup, to get it done is amazing. All of them are special for different reasons."

Follow us on Google News.

Kylian Mbappe Psg Inter Miami Cf Lionel Messi David Beckham Football Argentina France Ballon d'Or 2023 Erling Haaland