Odisha FC crowned IWL 2023-24 Champions after near perfect season

With their 6-0 win against Kickstart FC in the last game of the season, Odisha FC with 31 points were crowned the IWL 2023-24 Champions. Lynda Kom scored a hat-trick for them in the last game.

Koushik Biswas
New Update
Odisha FC crowned IWL 2023-24 Champions

Odisha FC players celebrate with the IWL 2023-24 trophy. Image | AIFF Media

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Odisha FC were crowned the Indian Women's League (IWL) 2023-24 Champions after a near-perfect season for the Juggernauts. With a dominating 6-0 win over Kickstart FC at the Kalinga Stadium in the last game of the season, Odisha FC claimed their maiden IWL title on Sunday. Former India U-17 captain Lynda Kom scored a scintillating hat-trick while Pyari Xaxa scored a brace to give them a huge win in the last game of the season. Odisha finished with 31 points in 12 games with only 1 defeat in the whole season.

Odisha FC striker Lynda Kom after her hat-trick in the last match of IWL 2023-24
Lynda Kom after her hat-trick against Kickstart FC. Image | Odisha FC

With their nearest rivals and the defending champions Gokulam Kerala playing a game simultaneously against East Bengal, Odisha FC knew they could not let anything happen on the final day of the season. A win against Kickstart FC would have meant that even a win for Gokulam Kerala could not stop them from winning the IWL 2023-24 title.

Read Also: Exclusive: Here's how Football giving hope to "Mini-Brazil of India"

Pyari and Lynda scored three in the first half

Filled with many national team stars, Odisha were in no mood to let their fans leave the stadium empty-handed. Two goals within the first 13 minutes would mean they meant business from the word go. Lynda Kom opened the gate for them with a perfect pass from Win Theingi Tun in the 11th minute. Two minutes later, Lynda became the assist provider for Pyari Xaxa for the second goal of the match. In the 22nd minute, Pyari found the net again for the third goal of the match. 

Lynda Kom and Indumathi celebrating a goal against Kickstart FC
Indumathi and Lynda celebrating a goal in the second half. Image | Odisha FC

Lynda's remarkable hat trick in the second half

Kickstart FC would look dejected even with a formidable defence and there was more to come for them. Karthika Angamuthu scored one of the best goals of the season with a left-footed stunner from around 22 yards in the 58th minute. With a 4-0 lead, the Odisha FC fans were already thumping in joy with their typical drums in action. Lynda then scored her second in the 66th minute and then went on the complete a remarkable hat-trick in the 77th minute to earn the Player of the Match award.

Though Gokulam Kerala won their fixture against East Bengal FC by 5-1; they had to be satisfied with the second position with 29 points after 12 games. Meanwhile, Kickstart FC finished just behind them with 21 points. Fazila Ikwaput of Gokulam Kerala was the top scorer of the tournament with 13 goals against her name.

Indian Football Odisha Fc Indian Womens League Gokulam Kerala East Bengal FC IWL