UEFA Europa League winners list

Sevilla are the most successful team in UEFA Europa League history with seven titles to their name.
Sevilla are UEFA Europa League. That's it (Image- UEFA)
Sevilla are UEFA Europa League. That's it (Image- UEFA)

The UEFA Europa League is an annual football cup competition for top football clubs in Europe. The clubs qualify for the competition based on their performance in their national leagues and cup competitions. It is the second tier competition for european clubs, below the UEFA Champions League. Major clubs have won the competition and added themselves in the prestigious UEFA Europa League winners list.

The competition was originally called the UEFA Cup, from 1970 until 2009, when there was a change in format and the competition was then known as the Europa League. Since 1996, the final is played as a single match, prior to that the winner was based on a home and way series.

Sevilla has won this competition record seven times. (Image– Sky Sports )

Tottenham Hotspur were the winners of the inaugural edition of the UEFA Cup in 1971. During the competition's run from 1971 to 2009, three teams – Inter Milan, Juventus and Liverpool – won the trophy thrice.

The most successful club in the competition is the Spanish team Sevilla, with seven titles (including 2020). Spanish clubs have the highest number of victories, followed by England and Italy.

Historically, teams from Spain have enjoyed supremacy in the UEFA Cup/Europa League with 13 wins. English and Italian sides are joint second, having won the competition nine times while teams from Germany, including those that hailed from erstwhile West Germany, have been Europa champions on seven occasions.

Here is the UEFA Europa League winners list:

2022-23Sevilla (Spain)1-1 (a.e.t) penalties 4-1AS Roma (Italy)
2021-22Eintracht Frankfurt (Germany)1–1 (a.e.t.) penalties 5-4Rangers (Scotland)
2020-21Villarreal (Spain)1–1 (a.e.t.) penalties 11-10Manchester United (England)
2019-20Sevilla (Spain)3-2Inter Milan (Italy)
2018-19Chelsea (England)4-1Arsenal (England)
2017-18Atltico Madrid (Spain)3-0Marseille (France)
2016-17Manchester United2-0Ajax
2014-15Sevilla3-2Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk
2011-12Atltico Madrid3-0Athletic Bilbao
2009-10Atltico Madrid2-1Fulham
2008-09Shakhtar Donetsk2-1Werder Bremen
2007-08Zenit Saint Petersburg2-0Rangers
2004-05CSKA Moscow3-1Sporting CP
2001-02Feyenoord3-2Borussia Dortmund
2000-01Liverpool5-4Deportivo Alavs
1997-98Inter Milan3-0Lazio
1996–97Schalke 04 (Germany)1–0, 0–1Inter Milan (Italy)
1995–96Bayern Munich (Germany)2–0, 3–1Bordeaux (France)
1994–95Parma (Italy)1–0, 1–1Juventus (Italy)
1993–94Inter Milan (Italy)1–0, 1–0Austria Salzburg (Austria)
1992–93Juventus (Italy)3–1, 3–0Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
1991–92Ajax ( Netherlands)2–2, 0–0Torino (Italy)
1990–91Inter Milan (Italy)2–0, 0–1Roma (Italy)
1989–90Juventus (Italy)3–1, 0–0Fiorentina (Italy)
1988–89Napoli (Italy)2–1, 3–3VfB Stuttgart (West Germany)
1987–88Bayer Leverkusen (West Germany)0–3, 3–0Espanyol (Spain)
1986–87IFK Göteborg (Sweden)1–0, 1–1Dundee United (Scotland)
1985–86Real Madrid (Spain)5–1, 0–21. FC Köln (West Germany)
1984–85Real Madrid (Spain)3–0, 0–1Videoton (Hungary)
1983–84Tottenham Hotspur (England)1–1, 1–1Anderlecht (Belgium)
1982–83Anderlecht (Belgium)1–0, 1–1Benfica (Portugal)
1981–82IFK Göteborg (Sweden)1–0, 3–0Hamburger SV (West Germany)
1980–81Ipswich Town (England)3–0, 2–4AZ (Netherlands)
1979–80Eintracht Frankfurt (West Germany)2–3, 1–0Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany)
1978–79Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany)1–1, 1–0Red Star Belgrade (Yugoslavia)
1977–78PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands)0–0, 3–0Bastia (France)
1976–77Juventus (Italy)1–0, 1–2Athletic Bilbao (Spain)
1975–76Liverpool (England)3–2, 1–1Club Brugge (Belgium)
1974–75Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany)0–0, 5–1Twente (Netherlands)
1973–74Feyenoord ( Netherlands)2–2, 2–0Tottenham Hotspur (England)
1972–73Liverpool (England)3–0, 0–2Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany)
1971–72Tottenham Hotspur (England)2–1, 1–1Wolverhampton Wanderers (England)

Related Stories

No stories found.