UEFA Player Of The Year: Winner’s List

Erling Haaland and Aitana Bonmati won the UEFA Player of the Year award during the award ceremony.
Haaland and Bonmati make history (Image- City Chief/ Twitter)
Haaland and Bonmati make history (Image- City Chief/ Twitter)

UEFA announced its Men's and Women's, UEFA Player of the Year for 2023 at the 2023/24 Champions League group-stage draw ceremony.

Lionel Messi was once again in the running for the men's prize and aiming to pull level with long-time rival Cristiano Ronaldo by clinching the award for the third time, after inspiring Argentina to World Cup glory and collecting another Ligue 1 title with Paris Saint-Germain before moving on to Inter Miami.

Erling Haaland, who won the UEFA Player of the Year award on Thursday, has joined the list of elite footballers who have reached this feat in previous years.

The Manchester City striker was voted ahead of Kevin de Bruyne and Lionel Messi.

Haaland helped his Manchester City side achieve a treble victory, scoring 52 goals in 53 games.

Alexia Putellas' two-year reign as the women's winner came to an end, but a fellow Spanish World Cup winner succeeded her. Aitana Bonmati took the award, which quickly followed her Golden Ball prize at the World Cup earlier this month, where she struck three goals and assisted two more. 

Bonmati excelled with the all-conquering Barcelona side last season before starring alongside Olga Carmona, the World Cup final match-winner, who was also nominated for UEFA's award. Australia and Chelsea star Sam Kerr rounded out the contenders.

UEFA Player of the year: Men's List

2010-11Lionel MessiBarcelona
2011-12Andres IniestaBarcelona
2012-13Franck RiberyBayern Munich
2013-14Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2014-15Lionel MessiBarcelona
2015-16Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2016-17Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2017-18Luka ModricReal Madrid
2018-19Virgil van DijkLiverpool
2019-20Robert LewandowskiBayern Munich
2021-22Karim BenzemaReal Madrid
2022-23Erling HaalandManchester City
Erling Haaland (Image- GOAL)

Women's List:

2012-13Nadine AngererFrankfurt
2013-14Nadine KesslerWolfsburg
2014-15Celia SasicFrankfurt
2015-16Ada HegerbergLyon
2016-17Lieke MartensBarcelona
2017-18Pernille HarderWolfsburg
2018-19Lucy BronzeLyon
2019-20Pernille HarderWolfsburg
2020-21Alexia PutellasBarcelona
2021-22Alexia PutellasBarcelona
2022-23Aitana BonmatiBarcelona

Related Stories

No stories found.