UEFA Super Cup winners of every edition

Real Madrid, Barcelona, and AC Milan have been crowned UEFA Super Cup Winners for a record five times in the history of this competition.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
UEFA Super Cup Winners | UEFA Super Cup winners of every edition | Sportz Point

The UEFA Super Cup is an annual super cup football match.  The winners of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League face each other in the ultimate clash. The competition's official name was the Super Competition and later the European Super Cup. In 1995, UEFA changed the name of the competition to the UEFA Super Cup.

From 1972 to 1999, the UEFA Super Cup was held between the winners of the European Cup/UEFA Champions League and the winners of the European/UEFA Cup Winners' Cup. Winners of the UEFA Champions League and the winners of the UEFA Cup face each other in the clash after the discontinuation of the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup. UEFA Cup was renamed the UEFA Europa League in 2009. The current holders are Champions League winners Manchester City. They defeated Europa League winners Sevilla 5–4 on penalties after a 1–1 draw. So, let's have a look at the UEFA Super Cup winners of every edition since 1973.

Read Also: Man City vs Sevilla: The Cityzens add UEFA Super Cup to their cabinet after a penalty shootout victory

UEFA Super Cup records:

  • Most wins (by clubs): Real Madrid, Barcelona, and AC Milan have won the joint-most UEFA Super Cup titles (5). Barcelona have also ended as the runners-up on four occasions. They have made the most appearances in this super clash between Europe's best sides.
  • Most wins (by players): Karim Benzema, Dani Carvajal, Toni Kroos, Dani Alves, and Paolo Maldini have won the UEFA Super Cup four times. 
  • Most wins (by managers): Carlo Ancelotti holds the record for winning the competition the most times as a manager. The Italian manager has won it four times (twice each with AC Milan and Real Madrid) in his career.
  • Most goals: Nine players have scored three goals in the UEFA Super Cup which remains a record. Oleh Blokhin (Dynamo Kyiv), David Fairclough (Liverpool), Radamel Falcao (Atlético de Madrid), Arie Haan (Ajax, Anderlecht), Terry McDermott (Liverpool), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gerd Muller (Bayern Munich), Rob Rensenbrink (Anderlecht), Francois Van der Elst (Anderlecht) are the nine players.
  • Most appearances (by player): Alessandro Costacurta and Roberto Donadoni hold the joint record for most appearances (8).

UEFA Super Cup winners of every edition:

Year Winner Runners-up
1973 Ajax Milan
1975 Dynamo Kyiv Bayern Munich
1976 Anderlecht Bayern Munich
1977 Liverpool Hamburger
1978 Anderlecht Liverpool
1979 Nottingham Forest Barcelona
1980 Valencia Nottingham Forest
1982 Aston Villa Barcelona
1983 Aberdeen Hamburger
1984 Juventus Liverpool
1986 Steaua Bucuresti Dynamo Kyiv
1987 Porto Ajax
1988 Mechelen PSV Eindhoven
1989 Milan Barcelona
1990 Milan Sampdoria
1991 Manchester United Red Star Belgrade
1992 Barcelona Werden Bremen
1993 Parma Milan
1994 Milan Arsenal
1995 Ajax Zaragosa
1996 Juventus Paris-Saint Germain
1997 Barcelona Borussia Dortmund
1998 Chelsea Real Madrid
1999 Lazio Manchester United
2000 Galatasaray Real Madrid
2001 Liverpool Bayern Munich
2002 Real Madrid Feyenoord
2003 Milan Porto
2004 Valencia Porto
2005 Liverpool CSKA Moscow
2006 Sevilla Barcelona
2007 Milan Sevilla
2008 Zenit St Petersburg Manchester United
2009 Barcelona Shakhtar Donetsk
2010 Atletico Madrid Inter
2011 Barcelona Porto
2012 Atletico Madrid Chelsea
2013 Bayern Munich Chelsea
2014 Real Madrid Sevilla
2015 Barcelona Sevilla
2016 Real Madrid Sevilla
2017 Real Madrid Manchester United
2018 Atletico Madrid Real Madrid
2019 Liverpool Chelsea
2020 Bayern Munich Sevilla
2021 Chelsea Villarreal
2022 Real Madrid Eintracht Frankfurt
2023 Manchester City Sevilla
Uefa Champions League Football Premier League La Liga Sevilla Uefa Europa League Uefa Manchester City Pep Guardiola Erling Haaland Kevin De Bruyne Uefa Super Cup